The following appeared as part of an article in a business magazine.

"A recent study rating 300 male and female Mention advertising executives according to the average number of hours they sleep per night showed an association between the amount of sleep the executives need and the success of their firms. Of the advertising firms studied, those whose executives reported needing no more than 6 hours of sleep per night had higher profit margins and faster growth. These results suggest that if a business wants to prosper, it should hire only people who need less than 6 hours of sleep per night."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

An argument is presented in an article in the business field. A survey of 300 male and female advertising executives found that individuals who slept fewer than six hours a night were more productive and helped their organizations make more money and expand more quickly. The argument rendered is not cogent enough and has some ambiguities.

Firstly, the survey considered has been done overall on only 300 males and females who are advertising executives. The question is whether the number of individuals used in the study is adequate for such a conclusion. Whether the consideration of only executives is rational? Do not other individuals and employees have a role in this subject? In my view, by consideration of executives, the researchers intentionally give orientation to their survey. This can cause bias, which is not desirable. The results of the survey had been more acceptable if the researchers would have randomly used other individuals with different positions.

In the survey, whether or not the physical conditions of people have been considered. Has the performance of people sleeping more than 6 hours been considered? It is possible that the disparities in the results are not significant. As a result, the consideration of this subject as a factor in choosing employees can be wrong. This is because sometimes this factor can cause employers to lose a better workforce. In my view, the consideration of such a factor is not good, as work experience, IQ, university qualification and other merits can be more useful for the assessment of individuals.

There is no evidence about the factors considered in the survey. We do not know about the kind of factor used in the survey. We do not know whether the factors used for the analysis of the survey are correct or not. This type of ambiguity can easily question the validity of the survey. There are no statistical figures for the survey done. This situation can cause referees to assume that the survey has been done just based on some empirical experiences without any scientific proof.

There is no mention of the number of companies used in the survey. We cannot exactly fathom whether the number used was enough or not. There is no mention of the number of companies used in the survey. We cannot exactly fathom whether the number used was enough or not. Also, the writer has not pointed out the type of companies. We do not know whether the companies used had the same work context or not. Another question is whether the samples used in the survey were comparable.

In conclusion, the argument mentioned by the writer had been more valid if he would have used more information to resolve all obscurities and weaknesses in the survey.