The following appeared in an editorial in a business magazine.

"Although the sales of Whirlwind video games have declined over the past two years, a recent survey of video-game players suggests that this sales trend is about to be reversed. The survey asked video-game players what features they thought were most important in a video game. According to the survey, players prefer games that provide lifelike graphics that require the most up-to-date computers. Whirlwind has just introduced several such games with an extensive advertising campaign directed at people, from ten to twenty-five years old, the age group most likely to play video games. It follows, then, that the sales of Whirlwind video games are likely to increase dramatically in the next few months."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these

assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The business magazine has mentioned the reduction of Whirlwind video game sales over the two past years. According to a recent survey done, it is predicted that this situation will change and the sales of such games will start to increase. The survey was performed by asking questions from video-game players, and according to the answers given, some changes occurred in the design of games. As a result, it is thought the sales of games to increase in the next few months. According to the information given, the validity of the argument is not warranted, as the scope of the survey is limited, and some points which can have an important impact on the conclusion, are not provided.

At first glance, there is no information about the amount of decrease in sales. The writer has not pointed to the sales figures before the two previous years. It is possible that the difference in sales has not been significant to conclude that sales have declined. The argument had been more valid if the writer would have done a comparison between the sales of games in the long-standing period and shown the existing changes to prove the decrease in the purchase of such games. With this activity, the extra costs for doing a survey that might not have a significant effect on the improvement of sales, are prevented.

In the survey, the only participants are video-game players. It is unclear, whether or not the buyers of such games are only gamers. If other groups of people buy such games, the survey is not valid because the individuals have not been chosen randomly. Also, the opinion of other people as an amateur has not been used for a more accurate conclusion. There might be other preferences in addition to lifelike graphics, such as the plot of stories in games and the graphic quality of games in terms of functionality. Also, games with lifelike graphics need cutting-edge computers that are very expensive. How many people can afford them? How does the writer ensure that more people will buy such costly games? If people would not buy these games how the money spent would be compensated? The survey had been more persuasive if the writer would have resolved these ambiguities.

Additionally, the writer has exactly pointed to the age of people playing such games. This orientation can have an incorrect impact on the results of the survey. Do other age groups not play such games? The effect of older age groups might be more in the increasing sales than the age groups mentioned by the writer.

There is no information about the number of individuals participating in the survey. Is the number used in the survey enough? Additionally, the writer has not mentioned the type of questions. For example, the questions have been “Yes” or “No” type or attendants have to give short answers. If the type of question is yes or no, how the participants were controlled not to answer the questions randomly? For example, some individuals may not have enough patience and answer all questions Yes. This type of questionnaire is not valid to use in the survey and should be omitted. Also, it is guessed that the survey was done a whole of one question. There is no information about other questions.

In conclusion, in my view, the argument and survey have a lot of weaknesses, and they are not enough valid enough for correct predictions about increasing sales.