"A recent study rating 300 male and female Mention advertising executives according to the average number of hours they sleep per night showed an association between the amount of sleep the executives need and the success of their firms. Of the advertising firms studied, those whose executives reported needing no more than 6 hours of sleep per night had higher profit margins and faster growth. These results suggest that if a business wants to prosper, it should hire only people who need less than 6 hours of sleep per night."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The given argument suggests that any advertisement firm should only hire people who need no more than six hours of sleep. This suggestion is built on many unstated unwarranted assumptions. Some of them are stated in the next paragraphs.

Firstly, the argument bases the profit just on amount of sleep executives of a firm would need. Profit can come from many factors. The purpose their products serve, their quality, firm’s advertising strategies. None of these are considered while relating number of hours of sleep to firm’s profit.

We also don’t know the percent distribution of executives from each firm who took part in the study. There is a possibility that there were no or lesser executives in the firm with higher profit taking part in the study who needed more sleep. Until a detailed report on the executives, taking the study, is stated, it will be unreasonable to conclude on the result.

Argument suggests that firm should only hire people who need less than 6 hours of sleep per night. This doesn’t consider the hiring on basis on executive’s skill or efficiency. What if the firm hires an executive just on basis of number of sleep hours, and he is not very good at his work? Still will this conclusion hold true? All these possibilities are not taken care in the argument.

Therefore, the given argument will fall apart if the above assumptions are not proved to be true, or convincing answer to the unanswered questions are not provided.