The following appeared as part of an article in a business magazine.

"A recent study rating 300 male and female advertising executives according to the average number of hours they sleep per night showed an association between the amount of sleep the executives need and the success of their firms. Of the advertising firms studied, those whose executives reported needing no more than six hours of sleep per night had higher profit margins and faster growth. On the basis of this study, we recommend that businesses hire only people who need less than six hours of sleep per night."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

the passage states that people who have less 6 hours of sleep per day should be hired by enterprises who want to get more profits. However, there are several points should be reconsidered in the assumption.

Since the conclusion drew by the passage mainly comes from a investigation, so whether the investigation is dependable should be evaluated.

First all of, samples of the investigation are only 300, however, it is as many enough for a sound experiment. Second, there are too many differences between male and female, such as hormone excretion, sleep cycles, health states, and so on. Besides, people in different ages need apparently varied length of sleep, for those are around 20 years old, they need at least 7 hours a day; whereas those are between 50 to 60 years old, they need less than 7 hours per day. However, this study does not take that factor into consideration, which makes its conclusion less reliable.

the study of a advertising firms shows a association between executives who need less than 6 hours’ sleep a day with the prosper of companies, then it comes out the conclusion that a business wants to prosper, it should hire only people who need less than 6 hours. but it is not reasonable enough to give the recommendation only with such a weak study. Because the study is just based on advertising companies, and advertising is a kind of industry in which people usually work more than average time, therefor, as a executive who are certainly much busier than common stuffs, sleeping less than 6 hours per day seemed as a common phenomenon, yet contributes little to draw such a result. And, in reverse, the phenomenon might because orders of the companies are too many that they need to work far more hours to get the business move, thus they can not sleep enough.

Furthermore, the success of a business is associated with a large amount of factors, such as the kind of its industry, the quality of its products, the current cash of the company and so on. a executive is only one part of the reason of the success. besides, a efficient executive can not garantee the sucess of a company.

To sum up, the assumption of the study should be more excessive, and more considerations should be take, and a conclusion should be carefully drawed.