The following appeared as part of a business plan developed by the manager of the Rialto Movie Theater.

"Despite its downtown location, the Rialto Movie Theater, a local institution for five decades, must make big changes or close its doors forever. It should follow the example of the new Apex Theater in the mall outside of town. When the Apex opened last year, it featured a video arcade, plush carpeting and seats, and a state-of-the-art sound system. Furthermore, in a recent survey, over 85 percent of respondents reported that the high price of newly released movies prevents them from going to the movies more than five times per year. Thus, if the Rialto intends to hold on to its share of a decreasing pool of moviegoers, it must offer the same features as Apex."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation

In this memoranda, the author made a conclusion about the needed efforts for increasing audience towards Rialto Movie Theater. The author seems to prefer mordernisation of this old theater as the most effective step here. This solution may seem effective but it can’t be accepted for the three following reasons.

First of all, the author states that Rialto is a very old movie theater aging about five decades. The author may observe this as a non favorable side but it may not stand true. There might be some dedicated fans of this theater who would always like to prefer this theater over any other. However, sometimes people tend to like vintage things. So completely transforming Rialto Movie Theater might destroy its original charm which can result in losing its original customers. As a result, both new and original customers might lean towards the newly built movie theater which can cause more loss to Rialto Movie Theater.

Secondly, the author states that survey correspondents complained about high price of movies. But as time flies, price of things go higher day by day. We can’t compare the new price with the old ones. The authenticity of the information given by survey participants might not be valid. The same price point can be comfortable for some while others may feel a bit unfavorable. Again, movie has been a very popular media of entertainment over the years so the decrease in the audience seems a little odd. So the author should have ensured variety of participants engaging in the survey .

Lastly, the more exclusive the features are, the more pricy it should be. So movie prices in Apex Theater might be a little bit high but that doesn’t mean Rialto has to do the same. Completely transforming an age old theater is a very expensive task and if Apex and Rialto become the same then people might rather choose the new one over the old. So Rialto should be unique in terms of other movie theaters to attract more customers. Rialto should retain its originality as well as introduce some exotic features to return back in business.

In conclusion, the author suggested few good points about growing the business of an old movie theater at the same time the author seems to overlook quite a few terms. The author must answer for the above three assumptions to make a persuasive case