The following appeared as part of a business plan developed by the manager of the Rialto Movie Theater.

"Despite its downtown location, the Rialto Movie Theater, a local institution for five decades, must make big changes or close its doors forever. It should follow the example of the new Apex Theater in the mall outside of town. When the Apex opened last year, it featured a video arcade, plush carpeting and seats, and a state-of-the-art sound system. Furthermore, in a recent survey, over 85 percent of respondents reported that the high price of newly released movies prevents them from going to the movies more than five times per year. Thus, if the Rialto intends to hold on to its share of a decreasing pool of moviegoers, it must offer the same features as Apex."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The manager of the Rialto movie theatre highly recommends offering the same features as offered by Apex theatre to hold its customers. He makes this recommendation based on two observations. They are the example of the Apex theatre and survey results showing how often people wish to visit theatres. However, the argument fails to establish a strong connection between these observations and conclusions, which lead to several questions. Two critical questions should be answered to evaluate further the recommendation of the manager of Rialto Movie Theatre.

First, was Apex theatre successful in holding enough customers by having the given features? The Apex Theatre, which was recently opened in the mall outside the town, might not have a considerable number of customers in the long run. Perhaps, the early customers might have visited only to see what is new in the newly opened theatre and might not be visiting the theatre in future. Thus, the author fails to establish that new features play an important role in attracting and holding customers. Furthermore, Apex theater could be the only theatre outside the city, and the residents around might have Apex as the only option for their theatre experience. In that case, claiming the stated high-end features as the sole reason for the successful run of the theatre is not fair. A survey among the moviegoers showing that they prefer such features even at a higher ticket cost might be helpful to answer this question and make the author's proposal convincing.

Second, are these survey results implying that there will be fewer people visiting the theatre in future? The author fails to provide enough details about the survey to support his claims. The moviegoers considered for the survey might not correctly represent the same population that visit the Rialto movie theatre. Perhaps, the survey might have been conducted among people with low income who do not want to spend much on theatre experience. Furthermore, the theatres do not always need to screen new movies, and they might screen a selection of good movies to attract more movie lovers at a lower ticket price. Moreover, the survey results fail to support the authors claim that people will visit theatres if they get facilities similar to Apex theatre. Thus, substantiating evidence that accurately reflects the number of customers visiting Rialto theatre and their requirements would be required to effectively back the author's claim.

In a nutshell, the argument fails to stand on its own as the author failed to provide substantiating evidence to support his claims. The argument might be convincing if the author extends his argument by addressing the above-unanswered questions.