The following appeared as part of the Dean s newsletter The University of Wabash is considering a community service requirement for all undergraduate and graduate students We believe that the objective of any university is to produce well rounded and

The argument mentions that the University of Wabash is considering a community service requirement for all students. This can be a really good initiative and might bring up a lot of changes to society. However, the argument propounded here is found lacking and has several fallacies. It contains several unsubstantiated assumptions.

The argument fails to take into consideration of those who cannot spare eight hours every month. An indigent who works to fulfil his daily needs and to pay his college fees will not be able to spend eight hours every month. An adroit entrepreneur who works on his startup after his college hours would fail to spare time for charitable work.

Additionally, the argument fails to provide a cogent argument about the eight hours per month for nine months is not backed up by proof. It seems like the time is pulled out from nowhere. A person can-do noteworthy and impactful community service in less than eight hours per month and yet, a person who did moderate community service for eight or more hours per month would have fulfilled the graduation requirement whereas the other person would have not.

Further, the argument fails to take into consideration the travail of those who have already done such charitable work. Moreover, charitable work is done in coordination with a local charity which is not on the Dean's list would be unavailing. If the hereto mentioned cruxes are not accounted for the graduation then the implementation of such a rule would be atrocious.

After taking the aforesaid points into account, it can be observed that the argument fails to be compelling at its best and disingenuous at its worst. However, the motive of the argument is sublime--the argument can further be reinforced by incorporating the following suggestions: First of all, those who cannot spend the required time due to unfeigned reasons should be ostracised. Additionally, the eight-hour rule must be backed up by proof. Most importantly, the work previously done before the implication of this rule and those done at charities not included in the Dean's list must also be considered for the graduation requirement.