The following is an excerpt from a speech given to the School Board about a change to the curriculum quot Because the future will be dominated by technology we must make four years of computer programming mandatory for all high school students If our s

Technology is proliferating at a rapid rate and a life without technology would be unimaginable. Computer programming is one such ramification of Technology which is highly in use, We can scantly find modern technological devices which does not involve programming. The argument here states that mandating computer programming course in a school would be beneficial to students. However, the argument here contains a number of unsubstantiated assumptions and is filled with fallacies.

First of all, any course should be chosen by the personal interest of the student and should not be forced down the throat. If a fish is judged by its ability to climb a tree, it is certainly going to get a bad grade. If a student wants to become a chef or interested in quantum physics but we make him a computer engineer, not only will the quality of the engineer produced will be atrocious, the engineer will always be ennui. The excerpt can be modified to make sure only those agog and savvy about programing can enrol to the course.

Additionally, the author fails to account for the number of computers available in the school. In case the number of students in the course exceeds the number of computers available at the school the plan to mandate computer programing would be faux pas. Adding, if the school has to get new computers either because the present computers are faulty or might not have any computers at all, a question arises if the school would be able to afford the new computers--if not, who will fund the schools?. The author must pellucidly allocate funds or provide links to donator for the replacement of old computers or buying new systems.

Lastly, the argument states that the computer programmers are well paid and can lead fulfilling lives and data scientists have the best job prospects and salaries. This statement is found wanting and is not backed up by any undergird. Also, if the claim is true, it is impossible to unerringly state that the claim would hold good in the future when the now school kids would hunt for jobs. It is not unheard that a previously well paid and in-demand job stream is now of little use and deserted.

After taking the aforesaid points into account, it can be observed that the argument fails to be compelling at its best and disingenuous at its worst. The argument is fallacious and can be ameliorated by incorporating the heretofore stated suggestions.