The following appeared as part of a letter to the editor of a local newspaper:

“It makes no sense that in most places 15-year-olds are not eligible for their driver’s license while people who are far

older can retain all of their driving privileges by simply renewing their license. If older drivers can get these renewals,

often without having to pass another driving test, then 15-year-olds should be eligible to get a license. Fifteen-yearolds

typically have much better eyesight, especially at night; much better hand-eye coordination; and much quicker

reflexes. They are also less likely to feel confused by unexpected developments or disoriented in unfamiliar

surroundings, and they recover from injuries more quickly.”

The argument states that whereas older people can retain all of their driving privileges by simply renewing their licence, it is unfair that in most places 15-year-olds are not eligible eligible to obtain their driver's licence. Though the argument is compelling on face value, its conclusion is ultimately untenable because it rests on faulty assumptions. Moreover, the argument lacks information on several important factors on the basis of which it can be properly evaluated.

First of all, the argument improperly compares allowing older people to be eligible for renewals to 15 year olds being eligible to getting a drivers licence. There is no relation between these two. The argument would hold better if the author compares older people who are applying for a driver’s license for the first time with 15-year-olds.

Secondly, the argument readily assumes that 15-year-olds have the maturity that is required to safely operate a vehicle on public roads. One of the most important factors in determining one’s eligibility to get a driver’s license is how cautious he/she is while driving a motor vehicle. The modern day automobiles are powerful machines that can cause considerable damage to life and property. Since young people are especially prone to taking rash decisions, this faulty assumption weakens the conclusion.

In conclusion, the argument is flawed based on the above mentioned reasons. It could be considerably strengthened if the author clearly provides pertinent information. In order to properly assess the merits of a certain decision, it is important to have full knowledge of all the contributing factors. In this particular case, it would be helpful to know if 15-year-olds are as safe as older people when operating a vehicle and if there are any other reasons such as their ability to take mature decisions in life threatening situations and whether they are prone to be influenced by others with bad intent. Without this information, the argument remains unsubstantiated and open to debate.