Government money should be used to support children in school for sports and arts rather than to support professional sports and arts that perform for the general public. To what extent do you agree?

Sports and arts are considered as the defining factors of any culture. While some people believe that government funds should be used to support children in school for sports and arts, others argue that governments should rather spend that money to support professionals that do for public. In this essay, I will explain why I support the former view.

In my opinion, free-market forces should take care of the funding for professional sports and arts. Since these artists and athletes are performing for the general public, they should get paid by the public. Sports and art forms that are popular among the public will naturally get more attention and thereby more revenues. Moreover, government interference in these aspects has a potential for corruption, which might lead to unfair competition and a decrease in the overall quality of the performances itself.

On the other hand, supporting school children benefit everyone equally. All children will get an opportunity to hone their skils. The talented athletes and artists among them, who perform well, will rise to the top and transition into professionals. Additionally, having exposure to sports and arts from an young age is good for everyone. It enables people to develop into well rounded individuals and as a result, society as a whole will benefit.

In conclusion, I think govenment funds for sports and arts are better spent on school children rather than professionals because it ensures everyone gets equal opportunities, helps its citizens become well rounded individuals and makes sure that the quality of professional artists and athletes stays high.