The following appeared as a recommendation by a committee planning a ten-year budget for the city of Calatrava.

"The birthrate in our city is declining: in fact, last year's birthrate was only one-half that of five years ago. Thus the number of students enrolled in our public schools will soon decrease dramatically, and we can safely reduce the funds budgeted for education during the next decade. At the same time, we can reduce funding for athletic playing fields and other recreational facilities. As a result, we will have sufficient money to fund city facilities and programs used primarily by adults, since we can expect the adult population of the city to increase."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The recommendation in the editorial states that the committee should reduce the budget allotted to children and allocate that money to adult activities since the population of children is declining, and as a result, the population of adults will increase. They claim that the decline in the birth rate, particularly in comparison to five years ago, is the main evidence for this trend. However, before this assertion can be evaluated properly, a few questions need to be answered.

First of all, are they sure that this trend of declining in the birthrate will be true in the future? Maybe this decline in the birthrate is due to some relatively temporary phenomenon. For example, maybe there was a major company near the city where most of the residents were working there, and that company faced some problems and had to fire most of its employees or even shut down. Therefore, people, especially young couples, were more careful about having kids until they have a better financial situation. If the above is true, then the argument does not hold water.

Furthermore, does reduce in the birthrate compared to five years ago mean that the birth rate has experienced a real decline in general? There is a chance that the birthrate was higher than normal in ten to five years ago, and now it is reducing to its normal in that region. For example, they expanded the city and sold houses to many newly married couples ten years ago, and this led to an increase in the birthrate at that time, and now everything is going back to normal. If the author cannot provide more accurate information about the abovementioned question, one can not rely on the conclusion it has presented.

Finally, If there is a decline in the number of children in the region, how does it mean that the adults' population will increase? I mean, if the children's population is declining, I think it means that the adult population will decline accordingly in the future, and even if we consider the next ten years, the idea of increasing adults due to decrease in the children population does not seem very logical.

In conclusion, the argument, as it stands now, is considerably flawed due to its reliance on unwarranted assumptions. If the author is able to provide information about the three questioned stated before, then it will be possible to fully evaluate the viability of the proposed recommendation to reduce the budget for funding the children's activities allocate that money to city facilities and programs primarily used by adults.