The following appeared as a recommendation by a committee planning a ten-year budget for the city of Calatrava.

"The birthrate in our city is declining: in fact, last year's birthrate was only one-half that of five years ago. Thus the number of students enrolled in our public schools will soon decrease dramatically, and we can safely reduce the funds budgeted for education during the next decade. At the same time, we can reduce funding for athletic playing fields and other recreational facilities. As a result, we will have sufficient money to fund city facilities and programs used primarily by adults, since we can expect the adult population of the city to increase."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

In the recommendation provided for the efficient planning of a ten-year budget for the city of Calatrava, it is stated that the committee will have a sufficient amount of money to fund the city facilities and programs used primarily by adults. The author’s inference is based on the assumption that it is expected that there will be an increase in adult population of the city. While it’s easy to understand why the author might have predicted the calculations of funding due to various impetuses provided, the argument is still rife with holes and assumptions and thus is not strong enough to lead to infer that there will sufficient amount of funds available for investment in adult facilities.

First of all, Citing the analysis of last year’s birthrate in comparison with that of the previous five years, the author reports a dramatic decrease in the number of enrollments in public schools. It is not clear, however, the validity of this analysis. It is not necessarily substantial that the decline in birthrate is an effective cause of lesser enrollment in public schools. The enrollment of children in public schools in particular, can have various factors contributing to it. For example, parents might enroll their children comparatively more in private schools than in public schools for various significant reasons like some parents might find private schools more suitable for their children, or public schools in the area might not be effectively maintained by the government. If either of these scenarios have merit, then the original argument is significantly weakened.

Additionally, even if we do consider the fallacy that the birthrate has significantly declined, it does not strengthen the convention that the adult population rate of the city will sky-rocket as expected by the committee. It is not necessary that there should be a correlation between the deduction in birthrates and the increase in adult population. Thus, the argument does not hold water if this correlation is taken into consideration.

Building upon the implication that the committee can safely reduce the funds budgeted for education fields based on the expectation that the birthrate will consistently decline in the next decade too, the convention stands ambiguous. Perhaps the birthrate might be predicted inaccurately based on the previous five years’ outdated studies. This effectively makes the argument weak.

In conclusion, the argument, as it stands now, is considerably flawed due to its reliance on several unwarranted assumptions. If the author is able to offer more evidence then it’s possible to fully evaluate the viability of proposed recommendation.