The following appeared as a recommendation by a committee planning a ten-year budget for the city of Calatrava.

"The birthrate in our city is declining: in fact, last year's birthrate was only one-half that of five years ago. Thus the number of students enrolled in our public schools will soon decrease dramatically, and we can safely reduce the funds budgeted for education during the next decade. At the same time, we can reduce funding for athletic playing fields and other recreational facilities. As a result, we will have sufficient money to fund city facilities and programs used primarily by adults, since we can expect the adult population of the city to increase."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The committee recommends that the city should cut the budget for educational facilities and as well as reduce the funding for athletic fields and other recreational activities based on the birthrate last year compared to the birthrate five years ago, which suggests a decline in the population of children in this particular city. It thus concludes that the city will have adequate money to fund city facilities and programs which are mostly used by adults. However, this recommendation appears to be premature and in order to make an informed decision about this issue, certain evidences are needed.

First of all, evidence regarding the birth rate in the past 5 years. It may be the case that the birthrate being lower last year was just an anomaly. Perhaps, there was an outbreak of a disease which deterred many mothers from having their babies. It might also be possible that the birthrate 5 years ago had been exceptionally high because a new hospital was opened in the city which attracted many mothers from the vicinity of this city to come here and deliver their newborns. It might be the case that, since then, similar hospitals have opened in all of the nearby cities, thus stopping the incoming of child bearers. If this is the case, then the argument put forward by the committee is put under serious doubt.

Second of all, evidence regarding the current state of athletic playing fields and recreational activities in the city. It might be the case that the athletic playing fields and recreational activities are used by many adults. Perhaps, the adult in the city like to engage in sporting activities. Perhaps, there are many sporting clubs in the city which use these fields in order to promote a healthy lifestyle. It might also be the case that the state of the current athletic fields and recreational activities are usable at best and abysmal at worst. Perhaps, they are in very poor condition and need repairing and maintaining. If this is the case, then the argument put forth by the committee does not hold water.

Lastly, evidence regarding the migration pattern of the adults in this city. It is possible that many adults of this city actually prefer to move out of the city. Perhaps, the city does not provide enough job opportunities to the adults. Perhaps, the adults find that the city provides an unappealing lifestyle to the adults who choose to go to bigger cities. It might also be the case that there are very few colleges in the city and the adults choose to go to bigger cities to study and stay there after graduation. If this is the case, then the argument falls short of its claims.

In conclusion, to better evaluate if the recommendation put forth by the committee is acceptable or not, the birth rate in the past 5 years, the state of the current state of athletic field and recreational activities and the migration pattern of the adults in this city are required. Without these key evidences, the recommendation proves to have some loopholes in it which render it weak and unwise.