The following appeared as a recommendation by a committee planning a ten-year budget for the city of Calatrava.

"The birthrate in our city is declining: in fact, last year's birthrate was only one-half that of five years ago. Thus the number of students enrolled in our public schools will soon decrease dramatically, and we can safely reduce the funds budgeted for education during the next decade. At the same time, we can reduce funding for athletic playing fields and other recreational facilities. As a result, we will have sufficient money to fund city facilities and programs used primarily by adults, since we can expect the adult population of the city to increase."

In the recommendation, the author argues that the city of Calatrava should curtail the funds for education, athletic playing fields, and other recreational facilities to have sufficient muny to fund city facilities and programs used primarily by adults. He substantiates his argument using the assumptions that the birthrate declining will last in the long run and that the decline of the birthrate is directly correlated with the decrease of the number of students enrolled in the public school. The argument seems convincing at first glance; however, the lack of evidence leads readers to conclude that the argument is not persuasive on many grounds.

To begin with, the author should provide more solid evidence that the declination of the birthrate of the city will last in the long term. As evinced in the letter, it is true that the last year's birthrate was one-half that of five years ago. However, this fact does not guarantee that the decreasing tendency will continue in the future. It is, for example, plausible that the last year decrease is just an aberration to the overall increasing tendency, possibly due to an adverse economy. Therefore the author should provide more information on whether the birthrate will decline during the next decade.

In addition, more concrete pieces of evidence are needed on whether the decrease of the birthrate will cause the number of the students to decrease. This is because there are other possible scenarios regarding the number of the students. For example, there might be some prominent private schools whose students come from other cities. If this is the case, the decrease of the birthrate does not necessarily yield the decrease of the number of the students. Therefore, the author should supplement his argument with more evidence on the correlation between the number of the students and the birthrate.

Finally, the author should supplement his argument with more cogent evidence that the adults of the city will not be disgruntled by reducing the fund for the recreational facilities. In all likelihood, the adults will also prefer to use playing fields and recreational facilities, for example, by playing football or basketball. In this case, a substantial portion of the adults will dissent from reducing funds for those facilities. Therefore, more information on the validation of reducing the funds for those facilities is required.

In brief, the author's argument is not convincing due to the aformentioned reasons. In order to strengthen his argument, the author should provide more evidence that the birthrate will decline during the next decade, that the decline of the birthrate will necessarily cause the decline of the number of the students, and that the adults will not go against with reducing the funds for the recreational facilities.