The following appeared as a recommendation by a committee planning a ten-year budget for the city of Calatrava.

"The birthrate in our city is declining: in fact, last year's birthrate was only one-half that of five years ago. Thus the number of students enrolled in our public schools will soon decrease dramatically, and we can safely reduce the funds budgeted for education during the next decade. At the same time, we can reduce funding for athletic playing fields and other recreational facilities. As a result, we will have sufficient money to fund city facilities and programs used primarily by adults, since we can expect the adult population of the city to increase."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

This editorial assumes that because lower newborn in the future, the city of Calatrava will save more money in the education and recreation facilities. And then, this saved money could be used to facilitate new programs used primarily by adults. Nevertheless, there are some evidences should be offered in order to evaluate the recommendation.

To begin with, one problem with the argument is that it assumes the lower birthrate apply equally to the low number of students. Yet, this may not be the case, for a variety of possible reasons. Perhaps there are still more than one hundred million infant born in the city of Calatrava. So a piece of evidence that we would need in order to evaluate the reasoning behind it is information about how many infant born in the city of Calatrava. Without ruling out such possibility, the author cannot justifiably conclude that the number of students is small in the city of Calatrava.

Even though the number of students is small in the city of Calatrava, we still need another evidence to evaluate a reasonable recommendation. The editor’s recommendation depends on the assumption that they can reduce the funds budged for education in the city of Calatrava because of low number of students. However, a myriad of other factors, including increasing birthrate after two years, or extra added students, might undermine the recommendation. To be specific, maybe economic recovery will cause the number of infant increasing, or the extra added students because of excessive migration family. Without ruling out these and other possible causes, the editor cannot justifiably conclude that they can safely reduce the funds budged for education in the city of Calatrava.

Further, the author’s conclusion that they will have more extra money to facilitate programs used by adults is unwarranted. There is lacking a crucial evidence to support the conclusion; Maybe saved money is too low to force new programs. It is entirely possible that the amount of money a new program need will offset, even outweigh the revenue. Besides, a myriad of other unexpected occurrences, such as unfavorable economic depression, might prevent plans from being as available as the argument predicts.

In sum, the committee must offer the specific evidences to support the conclusion. First of all, how many of infant now must be offered. Secondly, the extra evidence that can preclude some other factors, such as increasing birthrate after two years or extra added students, is needed. Finally, the evidence that predict accurate saved money and programs expense must be provided.