The following appeared in a recommendation from the planning department of the city of Transopolis.

"Ten years ago, as part of a comprehensive urban renewal program, the city of Transopolis adapted for industrial use a large area of severely substandard housing near the freeway. Subsequently, several factories were constructed there, crime rates in the area declined, and property tax revenues for the entire city increased. To further revitalize the city, we should now take similar action in a declining residential area on the opposite side of the city. Since some houses and apartments in existing nearby neighbourhoods are currently unoccupied, alternate housing for those displaced by this action will be readily available."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

It is stated in the recommendation made by planning department of the city that, they should take similar action of construction of industries in their city as they took ten years ago. Additionally, they also support argument by stating that crime rate was decreased and property tax revenue was increased ten year ago when this idea was implemented. However, before recommendation can properly evaluate, some question must be answer.

Firstly, what was the population ten year ago comparing to present time? Or do we have sufficient space to construct huge industry? Maybe, ten year ago population of the city was less and city was not so popular so it was plausible to bring industries in the city. But, now it is blatant that in ten years population of the city has increased and due to previous industries there is no more space in the city to build industries and seeing increase in population in past ten years it will be debacle to move housing to the other part of city. If this happens to be true then recommendation made by planning department of the city is attenuate.

Secondly, what is the possibility that citizen of Transopolis bolster this idea? Or what is the possibility that people of that area like this idea? Maybe, ten years ago as population was less and to improve the reputation of the city people supported this idea so they can get jobs in the industries. But, this time as the population is more it is blatant that people will face problem especially people living near that area. As for construction it required heavy budget and pollution also increases in nearby areas so it is plausible that people will not bolster this idea. If this happens to be true, then recommendation made by planning department of the city does not hold water.

Finally, how many people will agree to relocate? Or how many people will ready to move to other part of city? Tough some housing and apartment in the nearby neighbourhood is empty but there are some people living there and without their permission this project cannot be bring into existence. If this people don’t like the idea of relocating their apartment and housing then they will not bolster this idea. They may also revolt if they are force and this may exacerbate the situation. If this happens to be true then recommendation made by planning department is not practically possible.

In conclusion, evidence provided by planning department of the city, that support his claim, are dubious as well as erroneous. However, if all the question are answer and more evidence is provided then it will strengthen the argument.