The following appeared in a recommendation from the president of Amburg's Chamber of Commerce.

"Last October the city of Belleville installed high-intensity lighting in its central business district, and vandalism there declined within a month. The city of Amburg has recently begun police patrols on bicycles in its business district, but the rate of vandalism there remains constant. We should install high-intensity lighting throughout Amburg, then, because doing so is a more effective way to combat crime. By reducing crime in this way, we can revitalize the declining neighborhoods in our city."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

Regarding the issue, a recommendation given by the president of the Amburgs Chamber of Commerce in the article that the author of the argument installed high-intensity lighting in his central business district in the city of Belleville in the month of October and police patrolling started in the city of Amburg for protection of business due to increase in crime. Installing lighting throughout the city of Amburg may deteriorate the vandalism. Using this technique we will revitalize neighbors in the city back. The recommendation given by the president is based on insufficient data and information which assumes to be the relation of increase in crime among both cities one with high-intensity lighting installation but for Amburg city seems to be another reason for a crime that doesn't have to validate evidence to prove it. This recommendation rests on a series of unsubstantiated assumptions and is, therefore, unpersuasive as it stands. However, the argument is not well supported and flawed. In order to ascertain the degree to which this correlation is true, three questions must be answered.

Firstly, are the two areas where reported vandalism the same? It might be possible that initially there was a decline in vandalism but after some time vandals have grown accustomed to the lighting and are no longer deterred by it. But the article does not mention the type of crime in Belleville city; maybe the crime was the usage of the drug. As a result, by installing the light, they demolish this situation for the addicts. However, there is no lucid evidence about this issue. In this instance, the argument for installation would be weakened simply because there is no relation that the president is trying to convince the proportionality with an increase in vandalism. There is no sufficient data to verify the stated assumption to hold it true.

Secondly, what are the costs of installing these lights in comparison to the bicycle patrols, and would they be cost-effective? Furthermore, there might be some other factors like a demographic shift or worsening economic conditions that have served to increase vandalism. Maintenance should be provided for receipts and long-term costs for effective inference. Yet, the argument of the president would not hold much water. Hence, the other conditions should be highlighted for incidences to strengthen his statement.

Further as per the president, reducing crime would result in a revitalization of city neighborhoods is unwarranted. The decline in neighborhoods due to the availability of cheaper and attractive housing in the suburbs city. It is merely a vague expectation about the future without cogent and concrete evidence to adherence its feasibility. In all likelihood, there are a myriad of other choices such as social programs and juvenile legal-system reforms. Therefore, the assumption and expectation should shape based on the logical clue of this decrease and the valid method to flourish it.

In conclusion, to persuade me that installing a lighting system will be effective in Ambrug city, the writer must supply clear evidence that the crime types of the two cities are similar. Providing stronger evidence than the correlation that is presented here would carry more weight into the need to install these lights. He must also provide a clue that police patrols cannot address this problem solo. Hence, it can be said that the recommendations of the president are not well supported. As it stands, however, the argument is flawed for the reason indicated.