- The following appeared in a recommendation from the president of Amburg's Chamber of Commerce.

"Last October the city of Belleville installed high-intensity lighting in its central business district, and vandalism there declined within a month. The city of Amburg has recently begun police patrols on bicycles in its business district, but the rate of vandalism there remains constant. We should install high-intensity lighting throughout Amburg, then, because doing so is a more effective way to combat crime. By reducing crime in this way, we can revitalize the declining neighborhoods in our city."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

In the above recommendation, the author argues that to curb the vandalism they should install high-intensity lighting throughout Amburg. The author supports his argument by stating that after installing high-intensity lighting in Belleville vandalism declined within a month thus, ostensively implementing a similar strategy will also help to curtail the vandalism in Amburg. However, before evaluating the author’s argument three unstated assumptions need to be answered.

Firstly, the author argues that they should imitate Belleville’s strategy of installing high-intensity lighting in Amburg without providing any evidence regarding the two areas. One may raise questions about the authenticity of the comparison between the two areas. In other words, one can ask questions about the legitimacy of the strategy of using one circumstance from one thing to predict and generalise the other. Maybe the central business district of Belleville and Amburg are not similar at all. There is a possibility that roads in the central business area are more crowded at night than in Amburg and most of the crimes happen at night. Perhaps installing high-lighting intensive police patrol is the main reason behind the decline of crimes in business towns whereas the police force is not strict in Amburg than Belleville. If any of the above scenarios is true then the author’s argument is built unreliably. The author does not provide any justifiable evidence regarding the conditions of Belleville and Amburg. The author has to provide more evidence perhaps in a research study about the conditions of two areas to rectify his argument.

Secondly, the author argues that vandalism remained the same even after mandating police patrol on bicycles in Amburg. One may raise questions about the reasoning behind implementing police patrol on bicycles. Maybe most of the miscreants use bikes when they commit crimes then police patrol on bicycles will be ineffectual. Maybe people in the city are less careful about the danger. Then implementing an awareness campaign or providing high-speed vehicles will be effective rather than police patrol on bicycles. The author does not provide any evidence regarding the reasoning behind the failure of police patrol. The author has to provide more admissible evidence perhaps in a form of a research study about the reasoning behind the failure of police patrol to bolster his argument otherwise the author’s argument holds no water.

Thirdly, the author argues that by reducing crime the declining neighbourhood of Amburg will rejuvenate without providing any evidence about the efficacy of the strategy. One may ask whether increasing crime is the only reason behind declining neighbourhoods. Maybe the poor infrastructure of Amburg is the main reason behind the decline. Maybe most of the people leave Amburg for finding better jobs. In these cases, curtailing crime will not help to burgeon the city neighbourhoods. The author does not provide any necessary evidence regarding the declination. To strengthen his argument the author has to provide more evidence perhaps in a form of a systematic research study about the reasoning behind neighbourhood declinations.

In conclusion, the author’s argument stands now is seriously unwarranted due to its reliance on several unwarranted assumptions. If the author can elucidate the three unstated assumptions above and offer more evidence perhaps in the form of a systematic research study then it will be possible to evaluate the author’s recommendation that vandalism in Amburg will decline after installing high-intensity lighting throughout the city and it will resuscitate the declining neighbourhood.