The following appeared in a recommendation from the president of Amburg's Chamber of Commerce.

"Last October the city of Belleville installed high-intensity lighting in its central business district, and vandalism there declined within a month. The city of Amburg has recently begun police patrols on bicycles in its business district, but the rate of vandalism there remains constant. We should install high-intensity lighting throughout Amburg, then, because doing so is a more effective way to combat crime. By reducing crime in this way, we can revitalize the declining neighborhoods in our city."

The argument asserts that the installment of high-intensity lighting will reduce the crime rates in the city of Amburg. However, the assertion has several unsubstantiated assumption and is therefore unpersuasive as it stands.

First, the President of the Amburg Chamber of Commerce shows the case of the city of Belleville's installment on high-intensity lighting, which resulted a decline of vandalism. This case however, cannot be persuasive without further explamation. The installation of this lighting might be just a supplementary enhancement on certain system like CCTV or increasing time on patrols. Moreover, the city of Belleville might have the most vandalism rate in its central business district only.

Second, the President assumes that the police patrols on bicycles are no use since the vandalism rate remains constant. However, this assumption cannot be persuasive without other statistics on the city of Amburg. There might be a possibility that even though the rate of vandalism remains the same, the rate of arresting them might increase. Moreover, there might be other positive outcomes like the low rate of damage caused by vandalism. Just simply showing one statistic and assuming one situation might be a hasty decision.

Third, the President assumes that the high-intensity lighting will prevent the rate of vandalism in the city of Amburg. This assumption however, needs more evidence to be persuasive. The other aspects about preventing the vandalism, must be at the same level between these two cities to make this statement true. Maybe the city of Amburg have more residents than the city of Belleville. Maybe the observation rate of the vandalism is higher in the city of Amburg. We cannot be sure that the case of Belleville will make same result in Amburg.

In conclusion, the President's argument about the installment of high-intensity lighting will significantly reduce crime rates in Amburg fails to provide enough evidence to uphold its assertion. Since the argument does not have enough data, it lacks logical explamation and therefore unpersuasive.