The following appears in a letter to the editor for the West Lansburg News:

"The tufted groundhog lives in the coastal wetlands of West Lansburg. Ancient records suggest that the tufted groundhog once numbered in the millions. Since they were declared a wildlife sanctuary in 2004, development along the coastal wetlands has been prohibited. Now local development interests are lobbying for the West Lansburg council to allow an access road to be built along the edge of wetlands. Neighboring Eastern Carpenteria, which had a similar sanctuary, has seen its sea otter population decline since the repeal of its sanctuary status in 1978. In order to preserve the region's biodiversity and ensure a healthy environment, the West Lansburg council should not allow the road to be built."

Firstly, it is mentioned that the tufted groundhog once numbered in the millions. The records of this are ancient, which imply that this species has been a part of the coastal westlands' ecosystem for millenia. For a region to be declared a wildlife sanctuary, it would also imply that the region in question has a rich collection of fauna, which may be vital for the environment; it is entirely possible that, without them, some plants or animals may infest the area and cause the health of the ecosystem to deteriorate. If an assumption is made that such species would be harmed by roads being built on the periphery of the wetlands, then this could be seen as strengthening the argument against building such a road.

However, we must also consider the other evidence given: Eastern Carpenteria had a similar sanctuary, which saw population of an endemic species plunge when it lost its sanctuary status in 1978. There are many questions that could be posed here: After Eastern Carpenteria lost its sanctuary status, were roads built there, or were other civil developmental projects also taken up there? In 1978, were there other reasons to repeal the sanctuary status of this region, or were there other parallel causes that led to the decline in sea otter populations?

In taking such decisions, we must heed also the advice of data scientists: 'Correlation does not imply causation.' Just because the sea otter populations declined after the sanctuary status repeal, doesn't mean the two events were linked. There may have been a nearby factory which was given authorization to dump toxic waste into the sea, causing the otters to mass-migrate elsewhere. This also could be an effect of worldwide climate change, with rising oceanic temperatures. A road may have been built straight through the region, causing more human interference into the otters' habitat.

Now, we must return to the original road construction proposal, where it is stated that an access road is to be built along the edge of the wetlands. What does this 'edge' constitute? Is it a well-defined physical boundary, or just a rough estimation of the extremities of where the groundhogs live? The West Lanburg council could also, perhaps, find a loophole here, and check if providing this land along the edge of the wetlands can be done without repealing the sanctuary status.

Hence, historical numbers of the species could be seen to strengthen the argument against building the road, albeit with some extra assumptions. The evidence from the neighbouring region's sanctuary weakens the argument, by providing inadequate data to support the correlation between repealing the sanctuary status and the biodiversity of the region. Finally, we arrive at a more existential aspect: The sanctuary boundaries could be shifted over, or a legislative loophole could be invoked.