The following appears in a letter to the editor for the West Lansburg News:

"The tufted groundhog lives in the coastal wetlands of West Lansburg. Ancient records suggest that the tufted groundhog once numbered in the millions. Since they were declared a wildlife sanctuary in 2004, development along the coastal wetlands has been prohibited. Now local development interests are lobbying for the West Lansburg council to allow an access road to be built along the edge of wetlands. Neighboring Eastern Carpenteria, which had a similar sanctuary, has seen its sea otter population decline since the repeal of its sanctuary status in

1978. In order to preserve the region's biodiversity and ensure a healthy environment, the West Lansburg council should not allow the road to be built."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

In a letter to the editor for the West Lansburg News, a claim appears that the West Lansburg council should not allow the road to be built along the edge of the wetlands. The author claims that, a similar situation was seen in the Neighbouring Eastern Carpenteria, where the sea otter population was declined due to repeal of santuary staus and hence, if a road is built across wetlands of West Lansburg, same is meant to happen to the tufted groundhog living there. While the author's contention is logical considering the cosequences he stated to the neighbouring santuary, his arguments are rife with assumptions and flaws. They are not backed by any evidence, thus we are not in a position to conclude without futher information. The following evidence are required to back up the arguments made:

Firstly, the author bases his argument on the ancient records of the groundhog. He says that the ancient records suggest, the tufted groundhogs once numbered in millions in the wetlands of West Lansburg. He does not provide us with the information of the recent population of the animals living. There is a possibilty that, there are very few number of groundhogs left in the wetlands, or even the groundhogs are extinct. we are not aware of the fact. In this regards, a valid and accurate evidence on the current population of the tufted groundhogs living in the wetlands of West Lansburg is required to make an assessemt of the further arguments made by him.

Secondly, he argues that the sea otter population in Eastern Carpenteria has been decliend since the repeal of the sanctuary status. There is no concrete evidence backing up this assumption. We are unaware of the comparision scale that the author is considering currently. He says there has been a decline in the population of sea otter, but decline compared to when? Is it decline in population compared to millions of year ago, or a decade ago, or few months ago? We are unsure about this fact.

Thus, on procuring the exact intention of the author and facts regarding the same, we may be in a better position to validate the claim

Lastly, he claims that, in the neighbouring Eastern Carpenteria, which had a santuary, has seen its sea otter population decline since the repeal of the sanctuary status.

He has clearly made two assumptions here. First, he assumed that the decline in the sea otter population is due to the repeal of the santuary status. There could be many other reasons like the climate change, or the improper maintainence of the santuary, etc. Second, he makes an asumption that the repeal of the sanctuary status mean, there was development of along the sanctuary, like bulding road or other infrastructural activities. To validate this argument we require evidence on the actual underlying reasons on the decine of the sea otters and report on the developmental activites that have taken place around the sanctuary, since its repeal.

Hence, we are not in a position to conclude on the validity of the claim made by the author in this letter to the News editor. We require evidence on the current population of the groundhogs living in the West Lansburg, sea otter population trend in the past year, and proof that climatic conditions or other factors did not effect the decline in the sea otter population and only the developmental activities around had led to its decline. On collating such facts, we may take a forstance on the given prompt.