The following appears in a letter to the editor for the West Lansburg News:

"The tufted groundhog lives in the coastal wetlands of West Lansburg. Ancient records suggest that the tufted groundhog once numbered in the millions. Since they were declared a wildlife sanctuary in 2004, development along the coastal wetlands has been prohibited. Now local development interests are lobbying for the West Lansburg council to allow an access road to be built along the edge of wetlands. Neighboring Eastern Carpenteria, which had a similar sanctuary, has seen its sea otter population decline since the repeal of its sanctuary status in 1978. In order to preserve the region's biodiversity and ensure a healthy environment, the West Lansburg council should not allow the road to be built."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument

The editor claims in the West Lansburg News states that-the West Lansburg council must not approve to the proposal offered by the development interest along the edge of the coastal wetlands of West Lansburg. because there are inhabitants of tufted groundhog that are granted a sanctuary in 2004 and must be protected. The author buttresses the claim by providing a case of neighboring eastern Carpenteria which witnessed a sharp decline in the population of sea otters that lived there after the repeal of the granted sanctuary to the sea otters. After careful examination the proposed argument is flawed for numerous reasons that are based on many unwarranted assumptions that render its conclusion to be invalid.

First, the author cites that the population of the tufted groundhogs were outnumbered in millions in ancient records but doesn't provide any facts of the present population of the tufted groundhogs. There is a possibility that their population has already declined over the past decades or there are sufficient number of population to suffice thier existence. The present population of the tufted groundhogs will be key factor is deciding the development of the coastal wetlands.

Further the author states a case of neighboring eastern Carpenteria which wittnessed a sharp decline in the population of sea otters that lived there after the repeal of the granted sanctuary to the sea otters, which is presumes it is the same case as West Lansburg tufted groundhogs. The decline in the population of the sea otters maybe caused by some other factors. Consider the possibility of the sea otters had migrated to some other place which seemed more favourable or certain danger of some lethal predator present in the sanctuary. The author does not provide and facts or evidences regarding this before making these two cases similar which can be potentially different in many factors.

The argument states that developement interest may damage in haven of the sanctuary for tufted groundhogs by constructing an accessible road. However the author fails to think that the road build will be along the road side of the sanctuary and may not interfer the environment of the sanctuary at all. Also the author fails to provide and other offers provided by the development firms in regard to the sanctuary in the West Lansburg, the developes may offers to enhance the sanctuary for tufted groundhogs and other prey and predator within perhaps by building damns and river for wild animals, a perfect isolation of the sanctuary from human activity so that the animals can live in safe haven.

In the finally analysis the author does not provide and concerte evidence regarding the proposed argument. In order to persuade the author must offer substantial evidences and facts like the similarity between case of neighboring eastern Carpenteria, the current population and condition of the tufted groundhogs in the coastal wetlands, the possible other aspects that will affect the sanctuary due to construction of road. If the author fails to provide such evidences and facts then the author can not simply claim the proposed argument based on the anecdotal evidences.