The following is an excerpt from a letter sent by the principal of Greenwood School to the parents of all incoming kindergarteners. "We have decided to institute a policy of all-day kindergarten, instead of half-day kindergarten, for all students at Green

The principal concludes that the time wasted at home or in daycare will be reduced with the introduction of all-day kindergarten. The principal has nowhere mentioned if this new system has been tested or being implemented somewhere else with positive results. Without proof, it cannot be claimed that the time will be better utilized at the school.

First of all, the assumption that the kids will not waste time at school is wrong, the kindergartners are in the age group of 5-6 years, they are too young to understand the importance of time. Spending a full day at school instead of half a day will hit the kids hard. The kindergartners are just starting school, they are not used to being away from their family for such periods of time. This can cause the kids to be moody and not pay attention to teachers. Also, their attention spans are relatively very less compared to students who attend school full day, this makes the students likely to lash out when being forced to take in more than what they can digest in a single day. All this would lead to equal if no more wastage of time. Instead of keeping an all-day kindergarten, the school can increase the time spent at school gradually as the capacity of the kids’ increase. This would make the transition much easier for both the school and kids.

Secondly, separating the so-called average students from others will make them feel left out. This can lead to a bigger divide moving forward, which can further lead to one side bullying the other and we all know how bad that can get. So, it will not be wise to create a division between students. Instead, use the regular distribution of students in the class, that method has a proven record as to not create such scenarios.

Lastly, how can the school authorities judge a kid’s performance level at such a young age? Imagine if they determine that a bunch of kids as high performing and they turn out to be the opposite. All the low-achieving kids will then be put together, that class will then suffer as they do not have the high-achieving kids to help them out as planned earlier, even if they are judged correctly what is to say that the kids will help out each other. What if they just make fun of the less accomplished ones? This will further decrease their confidence in themselves, which will only increase the problems.

Hence, I would like to conclude that this argument has many flaws if it is implemented it will most probably fail. To improve this argument, I would suggest implementing the alternatives I have mentioned earlier. The corrected argument shall be to increase the time spent at school gradually and the division of classes to be conventional, with these modifications, the plan is less likely to fail.