Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increasingly more time to covering national news and less time to covering weather and local news. During the same time period, most of the complaints we received from viewers were concerned with the station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, several local businesses that used to run advertisements during our late-night news program have just cancelled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand the coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs

The business manager came to a conclusion that restoring the time devoted to local and weather segments will resolve all their problems. But what if the time devoted to the particular segments is not causing all these problems, the manager is adamant that the short-term decisions are the cause of this problem without necessarily ruling out the long-term agenda.

Firstly, the problem of cancellation of advertising contracts could be due to personal disputes among some particular businesses, or the news channel may have cancelled their contracts due to some other problems. Any disputes between these businesses can be mitigated by the news channel by mediating a discussion between them if there is a dispute with the news channel that can be resolved by getting to the root of the problem and offering to run a story dedicated to that particular business.

Additionally, the complaint from the viewers about increasing the time for local and weather news could be because they missed a major story related to these segments. This can be countered by increasing the quality not the number of stories that are being delivered.

Also, the reason for the viewer demand of increasing the runtime for particular segments could be due to the attractive presentation techniques used in them. The same techniques can then be applied to the national news stories, which will then increase viewer interest in that segment as well. The increase in viewership generated from this can attract more advertisement contracts. Thus, increasing the gross income of the news channel.

Increasing the time devoted to local and weather news for the reason of solving their problems is inadvisable as there is no guarantee that this step will rest restore their viewership and contracts. But, increasing the time if they do not have the number of stories for national news justifying the bigger time period will be the correct step.