The following is a letter to the editor of an environmental magazine.

"In 1975 a wildlife census found that there were seven species of amphibians in Xanadu National Park, with abundant numbers of each species. However, in 2002 only four species of amphibians were observed in the park, and the numbers of each species were drastically reduced. There has been a substantial decline in the numbers of amphibians worldwide, and global pollution of water and air is clearly implicated. The decline of amphibians in Xanadu National Park, however, almost certainly has a different cause: in 1975, trout — which are known to eat amphibian eggs — were introduced into the park."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

In this letter, the author claims that the decline in both numbers and species of amphibians attributes to the introduction of trout in 1975. plausible as it seems to be, there are many evidences, which, if not investigated, would dramatically reduce the persuasiveness of the argument.

First of all, we need more evidence to verify that the credibility of the statistical numbers reported by the wildlife census. while this census claims that both the numbers and species of amphibians had declined dramatically from 1975 to 2002, this claim and this data may not statistically plausible. it is possible that the census conducted its studies in different seasons of a year. To be more specific, this census, in 1975, may study the number of amphibians in spring which is the most active period for amphibians to live. Nevertheless, in 2002, they did their research in winter, which made them discover fewer traces of amphibians. In addition, amphibians might evolve and change their habitats over time, therefore they do not live in the same place as decades ago. In this case, if the researchers still try to find these animals in the old place, the observed result would render invalid. On the other hand, however, if the evidence proves the above is wrong, then the argument is strengthened.

Secondly, more evidence is needed regarding the environment change in xanadu nation park. while this argument does not provide any information about the habitat change of these amphibians, we cannot rule out this possibility. it is possible that the global pollution also happened in xanadu nation park, and the water there was in a poor condition, which caused a serious damage among these animals in recent years. Or the air was also polluted and mixed with some poisonous materials which are vital for amphibians. if these scenarios have merit, then it is reasonable to claim that these pollutions destroyed the ecosystem in this park and rendered it no longer suitable for amphibians to live.

Lastly, despite the evidences mentioned above, we also need more information to investigate whether the trout, who was introduced in 1975, are the real cause of the drop of amphibians. we are not denying that trout can eat amphibian eggs, but more evidences are needed to investigate the food sources of the trout and the relatively number of trout. if it turns out that the eggs are their main food source of trout and the number of trout is in a large quantity comparing to the amphibians, then we may safely regard trout as the main reason. however, if the evidence shows that the number of trout is quite small or they also eat other plants or animals other than eggs, then the conclusion is significantly weakened.

Overall, the argument, as it stands above, is considerably flawed due to its lack of specific evidences. if the author is able to provide more evidences, it is possible to fully evaluate the soundness of the conclusion that the trout are the main reason why amphibians are declined in xanadu nation park.