Twenty years ago, Dr. Field, a noted anthropologist, visited the island of Tertia. Using an observation-centered approach to studying Tertian culture, he concluded from his observations that children in Tertia were reared by an entire village rather than by their own biological parents. Recently another anthropologist, Dr. Karp, visited the group of islands that includes Tertia and used the interview-centered method to study child-rearing practices. In the interviews that Dr. Karp conducted with children living in this group of islands, the children spent much more time talking about their biological parents than about other adults in the village. Dr. Karp decided that Dr. Field's conclusion about Tertian village culture must be invalid. Some anthropologists recommend that to obtain accurate information on Tertian child-rearing practices, future research on the subject should be conducted via the interview-centered method.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

In this argument, some anthropologists suggest that more research related to the child-rearing patterns should be conducted by the interview-centered method in order to yield the accurate result. Plausible as this recommendation seems to be, there are a lot of questions, which, if not answered, would dramatically reduce the persuasiveness of the argument.

First of all, are the results of two different studies conducted by Dr. Field and Dr. Karp in different methods valid? These anthropologists assume, without justification, that the Dr. Field's result regarding the child-rearing patterns is wrong due to its inconsistency with Dr. Karp's. However, maybe both Dr. Karp and Dr. Field's research can reflect the accurate situation of Tertian. Since 20 years past, there could have changed a lot due to the introduce of the advanced educational mood which claims that children reared by parents are more likely to success than by entire village. If this is the case, residents in Tertian may turn their old practice to the new one. Therefore, it is unconvincing to think Dr. Field's conclusion is wrong, and maybe it doesn't matter whether the anthropologists should conduct a new survey.

Secondly, are the methods used properly during the two studies? There is a potential that either Dr. Field or Dr. Karp is properly using their methods, thus made no one's result acceptable. Perhaps, Dr. Field draw his conclusion because he saw the kids in Tertian played and educated in a group with many of adult around them. But the reality could be another picture that parents would educate their kids at home after a day's work. On the other hand, Dr. Karp may come to his conclusion due to the questions he asked. Children in Tertian, nevertheless, might give him the misleading answers account for they had no idea what the man was doing. If the above is true, the recommendation would be significantly weakened since either of the methods is faultless when applied to reality.

Finally, is it valid for these anthropologists to conduct their research only by one method? Granted that the latest research conducted by Dr. Karp showed a different result with Dr. Field, more information is needed to support which method is better. It is a possibility that both of them have their own benefits. Observation-centered method could reflect the real situation due to its objects are not noticed they are been watching. On the other hand, interview-centered method could find more information which cannot be observed. In this case, maybe it is better to find the child-rearing practices in Tertian via two method at the same time.

Overall, this argument, as it stands now, is considerably flawed due to its reliance on several unwarranted assumptions. If the authors are able to answer the questions above, it is possible to fully evaluate the recommendation that whether the anthropologists should conduct more investigation via the interview-centered method.