The following letter is from a group of Linford College alumni to the chair of the art

department at the college.

“In a recent survey of college graduates, 90 percent agreed that participating in an

internship increased their chances of finding a job after graduation, but last year, only 40

percent of Linford’s graduating art students had completed an internship. Skyway Designs,

located in nearby Linford City, is the perfect company for students to intern with for a

number of reasons: They offer internships in all of their departments, so every student is

sure to find work that they are interested in. Additionally, their internships offer flexible

working hours. Finally, Skyway Designs is known for being one of the best in the design

business, as over 80 percent of businesses in Linford City have used the services of

Skyway Designs for their design needs. Given the vital role that work experience plays in

a student’s success after graduation, we recommend that our art department require all art

students to complete an internship with Skyway Designs before graduation.”

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order

to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are

reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate

the recommendation.

While it may be true that the art students should finish an internship with Skyway Designs prior to leaving college, the argument does not make a resounding case for formulation of a rule that require all students to undertake such internship. The argument fails to answer many pivotal questions, and requiring all students to complete such internships might not, therefore, increase their chances of landing a job.

First of all, although the mentioned survery showed that most of the surveyed college graduates agreed that taking an internship increased their chances of acquiring a job, the argument fails to answer whether participations in internships really increase the employed percentages of college graduates. Statistics are needed to draw this conclusion, rather than simply citing how people feel about this issue. It is likely that people think that getting interships increases the possibilities of getting a job, but the data does not accord with that. In this way, it is unreasonable for the art college to force all the art students to get internship without properly answering this question.

Furthermore, the argument does not explain what the attitudes of Skyway Designs to accept art students from this college as interns are. It is possible that Skyway Designs is indeed a great company; however, it might not be willing to accept all the students from this college as interns. Therefore, it is unwise to directly requiring all students to get an internship with this company with considering the attitude of this company.

In conclusion, although the recommendation seems logical at first glance, the argument fails to answer several important questions. Therefore, requiring all art students to have an internship with Skyway Designs prior to graduation might not lead to increased employed proportions of college graduates of t.