In surveys Mason City residents rank water sports (swimming, boating and fishing) among their favorite recreational activities. The Mason River flowing through the city is rarely used for these pursuits, however, and the city park department devotes little of its budget to maintaining riverside recreational facilities. For years there have been complaints from residents about the quality of the river's water and the river's smell. In response, the state has recently announced plans to clean up Mason River. Use of the river for water sports is therefore sure to increase. The city government should for that reason devote more money in this year's budget to riverside recreational facilities.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on the assumptions and what the implications are if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

While it may be true that the city government ought to spend more money on the riverside recreational facilities, this argument, however, does not make a resounding case for this recommendation. The recommendation is based on assumptions that are fraught with holes and misinterpretations, and, thus, might not result in increased use of the river for water sports.

First of all, the argument states that surveys show that Mason City residents rank water sports among their favorite leisure activities. It is unclear, however, the validity and accuracy of these surveys. It is possible that the surveys simply focus on the residents in a certain area (for example, residents near the river), instead of the general population of the city. In this way, the selected samples are largely biased, and could not represent the feelings of all the city residents. Therefore, the results of the surveys could be unreliable to draw the conclusion that water sports rank top among the list of their favorite recreational activities of the residents.

Furthermore, the argument states the city government should spend more money on maintaining the riverside recreational facilities, which is based on the assumption that putting in more money would increase the use of these facilities. The argument, however, fail to mention the current status of the recreational facilities. It is likely that the riverside recreational facilities are in good condition, and the city residents do not use it often because the poor water quality of the river. In this way, spending more money on maintaining riverside recreational facilities would, certainly, not lead to more use of the facilities because the problem lie in not the budget of maintenance, but the poor quality of river water.

Last but not least, the argument mentions that the government is going to clean up the river, based on the assumption that residents would be more satisfied with the quality of the river's water and smells and the numbers of people using it would increase. However, it is likely that the river water got contaminated from pollutions of factories in the city.

In this way, the city government should import ban on the factories, instead of directly cleaning up the water. Therefore, simply cleaning up the river water would not improve the quality of the water if the government does not get to the bottom of the question. In conclusion, although the idea of spending more money to maintain riverside recreational facilities seemed logical at first glance, it is, actually, based on false interpretations of assumptions with holes, and therefore might not conduce to the goals-increased use of the riverside recreational facilities.