The following letter is from a group of Linford College alumni to the chair of the art

department at the college.

“In a recent survey of college graduates, 90 percent agreed that participating in an

internship increased their chances of finding a job after graduation, but last year, only 40

percent of Linford’s graduating art students had completed an internship. Skyway Designs,

located in nearby Linford City, is the perfect company for students to intern with for a

number of reasons: They offer internships in all of their departments, so every student is

sure to find work that they are interested in. Additionally, their internships offer flexible

working hours. Finally, Skyway Designs is known for being one of the best in the design

business, as over 80 percent of businesses in Linford City have used the services of

Skyway Designs for their design needs. Given the vital role that work experience plays in

a student’s success after graduation, we recommend that our art department require all art

students to complete an internship with Skyway Designs before graduation.”

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order

to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are

reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate

the recommendation.

In the letter, the alumni recommend the chair of the art department that all the art graduates should enroll in an internship program in Skyway Designs. They made this claim based on the assumption that a higher percentage of college graduate praises internship because it increases the chance of finding a job and the Skyway Designs provides certain facilities for the interns. This assumption may lead to the conclusion that the alumni's recommendation is viable, however, these assumptions have some voids in which the Chair of the art department needs to look through.

The alumni enunciated about a survey but there were no details about the survey. The survey can be invalid for many reasons such as maybe the survey was conducted along with a group of people who are from one or a few particular fields and do not represent the whole diversity of art graduates. Moreover, the alumni did not delineate about the size of people among which the survey was conducted. The size may be too small to pronounce the survey validly.

Furthermore, even if the Skyway Designs offers internships in all of their departments, there is no proclamation about the number of departments or the range of variety in their works. There can only be a few of departments and their variety of work might be very low so that all the graduates may not able to find the job they are interested in. Additionally, if the range of variety is low, then there may be very little opportunity to learn new skills even if a graduate finds a department relatable to his work.

Finally, the letter asserted the Skyway Designs as one of the best in the design business because over 80 percent of business in Linford City used its design. The Skyway Design has more customers does not mean that they are the best in creative work. The reason behind other businesses are interested in collaborating with them might be the Skyway Designs is economic or they are responsive.

In sum, even though the alumni have some potential points in their letter, the craters in the assumptions might weaken or nullify their contention.