The following is a letter from the parent of a private school student to the principal of that school:

Last year, Kensington Academy turned over management of its cafeteria to a private vendor, Swift Nutrition. This company serves low-fat, low-calorie meals that students do not find enjoyable – my son and several of his friends came home yesterday complaining about the lunch options. While the intent of hiring Swift may have been to cause students to eat healthier foods, the plan is just going to cause students to bring their own, less healthy lunches instead of eating cafeteria food. If Swift is not replaced with another vendor, there will be serious health consequences for Kensington students.

__________

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the prediction and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the prediction.

In the letter to the principal of the school, the author concludes that adopting a private vendor for the cafeteria department of the school can result in serious health consequences as, the students would not find the meals enjoyable and would, therefore, bring unhealthy lunches to the school. Although the cited pieces of evidence seem logical and probable, the conclusion relies on doubtful assumptions that do not lend credible support to the argument. Hence the argument seems logically unconvincing in several aspects.

Firstly, the author assumes that since she received complaints from her son and his friends about the available lunch option, therefore, all the students of the school might not like the food. But how many students have complained regarding the food options? If the author's son and his friends comprise only 3-4% of the total population of students then, it cannot be concluded that all the students of the school are dissatisfied with the food available in the cafeteria. Perhaps, majority of the students are comfortable with the new variety of food available as it is tasty and healthy at the same time. Also, the majority of the students might be attracted to the creative way the food is displayed by the company and hence would be inclined to eat the food available in the cafeteria. Therefore, the author should have provided additional information such as the number of students who are not satisfied with the food, to strengthen the argument.

In addition to this, the author assumes that all healthy foods which are low-fat and low-calorie must not be delicious and enjoyable. Perhaps, the healthy food that is provided is prepared in such a manner so that children find it tasty, and also its aesthetics might charm them into eating that food.

Also. maybe this company provides a wide variety of food options which change frequently. Therefore, a student who is not satisfied with today's menu might find the next day's menu as enjoyable and interesting. Also, the author assumes that the students are being honest when they claim that they are dissatisfied with the new food available in the cafeteria. Perhaps, the students are lying that they do not like the food because they want to bring their own less healthy foods to the school.

Finally, the author assumes that since the students do not find the cafeteria food enjoyable, therefore, they would bring their own, less healthy lunches to the school. However, what if the school has certain strict restrictions against students bringing their lunches to school. In that case, the student is left with no other option but to consume the healthy food provided by the cafeteria. Also, probably the majority of the other parents of the school may be highly satisfied with the company's service and their motive to provide healthy food to the children. Therefore, the author's complaint would not be considered effective and the entire purpose of the argument would be undermined.

To sum up, the argument consists of some obvious fallacies and loopholes. To strengthen the argument, the author should have provided additional information such as, the number of students who have complained about the cafeteria food, or information about the options and food that is provided by the company to the students, and the restrictions and rules of the school against bringing outside lunches by the students. But in the absence of this data, the argument relies on some doubtful assumptions that render it unconvincing as it stands.