The following is a recommendation from the business manager of Monarch Books.

"Since its opening in Collegeville twenty years ago, Monarch Books has developed a large customer base due to its reader-friendly atmosphere and wide selection of books on all subjects. Last month, Book and Bean, a combination bookstore and coffee shop, announced its intention to open a Collegeville store. Monarch Books should open its own in-store café in the space currently devoted to children's books. Given recent national census data indicating a significant decline in the percentage of the population under age ten, sales of children's books are likely to decline. By replacing its children's books section with a café, Monarch Books can increase profits and ward off competition from Book and Bean."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

In a recommendation from the manager of Monarch books, the author concludes that opening an in-store cafe in the space currently devoted to children's books can increase the store's overall profits as well as ward off competition from another store that is opening its branch in Collegeville called Book and Bean. Although the cited pieces of evidence seem logical and probable, the conclusion on which the argument relies does not lend credible support to the argument. Hence the argument seems logically unconvincing in several aspects.

Firstly, the author assumes that opening an in-store cafe in their stores is going to increase their overall profits. Perhaps, the customers of the Monarch Books store are comfortable with the reader-friendly atmosphere of the store, and introducing an in-store cafe can disturb this atmosphere by creating chaos and thus cause discontentment among its customers. This, in turn, can lead to an overall decrease in the store's profits, and thus the purpose of the argument would be undermined

In addition to this, the author assumes that it would be prudent for the store to remove the children's section and replace it with a cafe. This decision was based on the results of a recent national survey that indicated a decrease in the population of children below 10 years of age. But the author fails to provides information such as what percentage of his customers are children? Perhaps if the profits of his store depended mostly on children then undertaking this decision would be considered foolhardy. Moreover, the author cites that the bookstore is known for the availability of a wide variety of books. Thus if they rule out the children's books from their stores then people won't perhaps visit their stores. It may also happen that most of the adults love to read children's books and hence removing the children's section can cause dissatisfaction among them and hence the shop would lose some of its valuable customers Thus, the author should at least acknowledge these major flaws and perhaps improve by stating the significance of the children's books section in comparison with the overall profits of the store.

Finally, the author assumes that they would be able to ward off the competition from the Book and Bean store after introducing the same facilities into their stores as that contained in the Book and Bean store. But the Book and Bean stores may have some additional facilities such as lower prices of the books and an improved ambience where readers can comfortably sit and read the books. Thus the readers may get attracted towards the new book store and hence the overall profits of the Monarch book stores may reduce.

To sum up, the argument consists of some obvious fallacies and loopholes. To strengthen the argument, the author should have provided additional information such as, what are the type of customers visiting their stores or what is the impact of removing the children's section on the overall profits of the stores or perhaps what other facilities are provided in the Book and Bean stores. But in the absence of this data, the conclusion relies on some doubtful assumptions that render it unconvincing as it stands.