The following is a letter that recently appeared in the Oak City Gazette, a local newspaper.

"The primary function of the Committee for a Better Oak City is to advise the city government on how to make the best use of the city's limited budget. However, at some of our recent meetings we failed to make important decisions because of the foolish objections raised by committee members who are not even residents of Oak City. People who work in Oak City but who live elsewhere cannot fully understand the business and politics of the city. After all, only Oak City residents pay city taxes, and therefore only residents understand how that money could best be used to improve the city. We recommend, then, that the Committee for a Better Oak City vote to restrict its membership to city residents only. We predict that, without the interference of non-residents, the committee will be able to make Oak City a better place in which to live and work."

The author of this argument recommends that Committee should only allow residents in the city to be its memberships. To justify the recommendation, the author provides the following fact. Oak City residents pay city taxes, so they must able to be members of committee. In addition, in a recent meeting one who cites foolish objections, this show that they can not fully understand business and politics in the city. Therefore, if all members of committee are residents, the city will be better place for living and working. Scrutiny each of these facts, however, reveals that none of them lend credible supports to the recommendation.

First, the author mentions that none-residents members cannot comprehend the conditions, because a member who does not live in city has foolish idea. Nonetheless, it is entirely possible the idea of this non-resident member was logically, while other member could not comprehend it. In addition, the idea may put other members’ interest in the line. Moreover, if their idea was foolish, the author cannot generalize their conclusion to other all non-resident members in committee. Without considering these possible scenarios, the author cannot conclude that non-resident members can not understand business and policies in the city.

In the second place, the author climes residents can live and in a better condition, if all members in committee live in the city. Nevertheless, it is not necessarily the case. Progress of the city depend many factors such as industrial factories, educated members of committee, and economic conditions.

In sum, the argument is flawed logically and therefore unconvincing it stands. To strengthen the argument, the author must provide information about what a non-resident member cited in the committee. In order to evaluate better the conclusion it would be better to know more about the city’s condition, and its facilities.