The following is a letter that recently appeared in the Oak City Gazette, a local newspaper. "The primary function of the Committee for a Better Oak City is to advise the city government on how to make the best use of the city's limited budget. However, at some of our recent meetings we failed to make important decisions because of the foolish objections raised by committee members who are not even residents of Oak City. People who work in Oak City but who live elsewhere cannot fully understand the business and politics of the city. After all, only Oak City residents pay city taxes, and therefore only residents understand how that money could best be used to improve the city. We recommend, then, that the Committee for a Better Oak City vote to restrict its membership to city residents only. We predict that, without the interference of non-residents, the committee will be able to make Oak City a better place in which to live and work." Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the pre

In the letter that recently appeared in the Oak City Gazette, the author recommends that the committee will be able to make Oak City a better place by restricting the membership of the committee to its residents. Although his argument may seem compelling at first glance, there are some questions to be answered to strengthen the soundness of the argument.

First, the author pointed out that some of their recent meeting ended in failure because of the foolish objection raised by some of the members who are not residents of Oak City. However, it needs to be questioned whether the failure of the meeting is attributed to the objection of the members or other factors. Furthermore, the author’s recommendation implies that the objection of the non-resident members should be undermined since they cannot fully understand the business and politics of the city even though they work in Oak City. It is suspicious whether the residents have better knowledge about the city than the workers just because they live in the city. It is possible that the works have better knowledge than the residents since they work for the city’s business.

Next, the author needs to answer the question whether tax payers have better understanding of how the their money could best be used to improve the city.

Lastly, the author recommends that the membership of the committee should be restricted to its residents so that the committee could make Oak City better without the interference of non-residents. However, it needs to be answered whether banning the membership of non-residents would lead to decision making of the committee. It can be said that the more opinions, the better decision. With various view point, the committee may be able to make better decision for the city.

In brief, his recommendation that the membership of the committee should be restricted to residents to make the city better is unconvincing. There are some questions such as ‘having the non-resident members in the committee would have adverse effect on the city?’ should be answered to bolster the validity of the recommendation.