The following memorandum is from the business manager of Happy Pancake House restaurants.

"Recently, butter has been replaced by margarine in Happy Pancake House restaurants throughout the southwestern United States. This change, however, has had little impact on our customers. In fact, only about 2 percent of customers have complained, indicating that an average of 98 people out of 100 are happy with the change. Furthermore, many servers have reported that a number of customers who ask for butter do not complain when they are given margarine instead. Clearly, either these customers do not distinguish butter from margarine or they use the term 'butter' to refer to either butter or margarine."

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

The author of above argument alleges that replacing margarine with butter have little impact on customers and concludes people mostly could not distinguish these two each other and may refer both of them as butter. The argument above is seemingly well-developed and reasonable at first galnce but it rests on assumptions which could be challenged in one way or another. I will explain three potentioal flaws in the argument that the author should provide additional evidence to make the argument more persuasive for readers.

The first question that the author should answer is that the main reason that they have replaced margarine with butter. Is this for financial reasons, health problems or for difficullty in providing butter. Then, according to each of these possibilities the author should evaluate the results. For instance, if they changed the material to make more profit, they should conduct investigation on the number of the customers whether changed or remained constant. If this is the case, then they evaluate these saving worth to loss some customer or not.

The author has alleged that changing material had not effect on customers. He has mentioned that only 2 percent of customers have claimed about that and conclude 98 percent are happy with this change. It would not be correct necessariliy because all of unsatisfied customers would complaine about it while in the reality many of unsatisfied customers never complain about the quality. They just leave the restaurants and never come back. On the other hand, if the proccess of complaining of the restaurant is comlicated or online, then some of customer would change their mind to complain. Besides, the argument has not provided any information about the trend of the number of customers in the aforemntioned period. This trend could help to show a clear view of impact of the change on the customers.

Finally, the author alleged that many customer could not distinguish the difference of between butter and margarine or name both of them as butter. The author mentioned when they gave customers margarine instead of butter they did not complain, as a reason. However, a possible flaw in this reasoning is that many people hate to complain for different things. Moreover, even if we accept the reasoning of the author, customers may not recognize the differences but they may understand the that taste of the food changed. Therefore, they would be unsatisfied without understanding the difference of the both.

In conclusion, in order to make the argument more persuasive, the writer should provide additional information by conducting investigation or provide trend of the number of the customers and eliminate any other possibilities such as difficulty in complaining system of the restaurants.