The following memorandum is from the business manager of Happy Pancake House restaurants.

"Recently, butter has been replaced by margarine in Happy Pancake House restaurants throughout the southwestern United States. This change, however, has had little impact on our customers. In fact, only about 2 percent of customers have complained, indicating that an average of 98 people out of 100 are happy with the change. Furthermore, many servers have reported that a number of customers who ask for butter do not complain when they are given margarine instead. Clearly, either these customers do not distinguish butter from margarine or they use the term 'butter' to refer to either butter or margarine."

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

The business manager of Happy Pancake House restaurants claims that the change, which butter has been replaced by margarine, had ad little impact on their customers. However, there are some questions that need to be answered to make the statement more convincing.

First, the manager claims that only 2 percent of customers have complained, indicating that an average of 98 people out of 100 are happy with the change that butter has been replaced by margarine. However, we need to know that who make this survey. If the survey is made by a college student who just wants to cope with the assignment of his or her class, the statement that only 2 percent of customers have complained is unreliable; but if the survey is conducted by a famous team that majors in collecting the data, the survey may be more trustful.

However, despite the fact that the survey indeed is collected by a professional team, we still need to be circumspect to interpret this result. Because maybe the reason that only 2 percent of customers have complained is that they do not want any trouble. Some managers ask their clients to talk with these customers to know the reason they complain. To many customers, it is an annoying thing to explain why they complain. Therefore, they choose not to reply anything and decide to go to other stores.

Moreover, the manager argues that many customers can not distinguish between butter and margarine so that they can secretly replace butter to margarine. It is a huge wrong way to deceive their customers. Although the customers will not notice the difference, if one day they realize that they are beguiled by the store, the reputation of the store will rapidly decline, even no one will accept the store.

If the manager can accept all my opinion and answer the questions, it will make the manager's statement more convincing