The following memorandum is from the business manager of Happy Pancake House restaurants.

"Recently, butter has been replaced by margarine in Happy Pancake House restaurants throughout the southwestern United States. This change, however, has had little impact on our customers. In fact, only about 2 percent of customers have complained, indicating that an average of 98 people out of 100 are happy with the change. Furthermore, many servers have reported that a number of customers who ask for butter do not complain when they are given margarine instead. Clearly, either these customers do not distinguish butter from margarine or they use the term 'butter' to refer to either butter or margarine."

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

In the passage, we are informed that margarine replacement with butter has little impact on customer of Happy Pancake House restaurants. By citing that feedbacks from both customers and servants, the author ascribes this phenomenon to the reason that customers either cannot distinguish difference between them or they use term "butter" to refer to either of them. Quite convincing though such explanation appears at first glance, we cannot safely draw a conclusion that it is the unique one that accounts for the facts presented in the argument. Therefore, we need more explanations which could rival with the one given in the argument.

To start off, the author attributes little customers' complains to their satisfaction about such change. While this may be true, this situation may result from other reasons as well. First of all, it is possible that most of customers lack channel to vent their angry about such product replacement. If this is the case, just 2 percent of negative feedbacks could have nothing to do with customers' positive attitude. Thus, it could be explained as stemming from no way for them to send their dissatisfactions back to the company. Second, while such statistics seem optimistic, it is of equal probability that this company only conducted the survey with limited responders. If we can verify that only a small proportion of end customers had joined such survey, the underlying logic will be weakened, namely: 2 percent of customers' complains represent their content about such replacement.

Furthermore, servants' report about lack of complains may lend more support to the author's conclusion. However, few negative message is presumably from other factors as well. For example, customers have limited time to complain such unfair replacement, and their indifferent attitude has been misrepresented by servants. Moreover, servants in Happy Pancake House may distort the fact in order to please their senior management team. Without additional investigation, we cannot decide which factor could finally lead to such positive feedback from servants. It is even likely that all of the aforementioned factors have conspired to this phenomenon.

Last but not least, while customers from Happy Pancake House are contented with such change, it is reckless to claim that this results from their inability from discriminating those two products, or their understanding about the term 'butter'. Other factors lead to the aforementioned situations. For example, they are extremely busy with their own business so that the replacement of butter seems inconsequential. Or, they intended to try with different alternatives instead of sticking to a single product. If either of two is true, then the author's explanation may become untenable.

In summary, while the two reasons given by the author seem compelling, in the absence of sufficient information, we cannot establish a causal relationship between them and little complain from customers in Happy Pancake House restaurants. Therefore, the root cause of the aforementioned phenomenon is such a case that we should consider more explanations which could account for the facts presented in the argument.