The following memorandum is from the business manager of Happy Pancake House restaurants. "Recently, butter has been replaced by margarine in Happy Pancake House restaurants throughout the southwestern United States. This change, however, has had little impact on our customers. In fact, only about 2 percent of customers have complained, indicating that an average of 98 people out of 100 are happy with the change. Furthermore, many servers have reported that a number of customers who ask for butter do not complain when they are given margarine instead. Clearly, either these customers do not distinguish butter from margarine or they use the term 'butter' to refer to either butter or margarine." Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

In the passage, we are informed that margarine replacement with butter has little impact on customer of Happy Pancake House restaurants. By citing that feedbacks from both customers and servants, the author ascribes this phenomenon to the reason that customers either cannot distinguish difference between them or term "butter" is indiscriminately used by customers. Quite convincing though such explanation appears at first glance, we cannot safely draw a conclusion that it is the unique one that accounts for the facts presented in the argument. Therefore, we need more explanations which could rival with the one given in the argument.

To start off, the author attributes little customers' complains to their satisfaction about such change. While this may be true, such situation may result from other reasons as well. First of all, it is possible that most of customers lack available channels to vent their angry about this sudden product change. If this is the case, just 2 percent of negative feedbacks could have nothing to do with customers' real attitudes. Thus, the seemingly less complains could be explained as stemming from no way to send their dissatisfactions back to the company. Second, while such statistics appear optimistic at fist glance, it is of equal probability that the survey had been conducted with limited responders. If we can prove that only a small proportion of end customers had joined such survey, the underlying logic of the author will be weakened, namely: 2 percent of customers' complains well demonstrate their contentment about such replacement.

Furthermore, the servants' report may lend more support to the author's conclusion about less deleterious results caused by this product change. However, few negative message from servants may presumably originate from other factors as well. For example, customers hurried up with their own business, having no time for whining this unreasonable change. And their indifferent attitudes has been misrepresented by servants as a kind of satisfaction. Moreover, servants in Happy Pancake House restaurants may distort or even conceal the fact of customers' frustrations in order to please their senior management team. Without additional investigations, we cannot decide which factor could finally lead to such positive feedback from servants. It is even likely that all of the aforementioned factors have conspired to this phenomenon.

Last but not least, while customers from Happy Pancake House restaurants are contented with such replacement, it is reckless to claim that this attitude results from their inability from discriminating those two products, or their understanding about the term 'butter'. Other factors may lead to the aforementioned situation. For example, they are extremely busy with their own business so that the replacement of butter seems inconsequential. Or, they intended to try with different alternatives instead of sticking to a single product. If either of two is true, then the author's explanation may become untenable.

In summary, while the two reasons given by the author seem compelling to some degree, in the absence of sufficient information, we cannot establish a causal relationship between them and little complain from customers in Happy Pancake House restaurants. Therefore, the root cause of the aforementioned phenomenon is such a case that we should consider more explanations which could account for the facts presented in the argument.