The following is a recommendation from the personnel director to the president of Acme Publishing Company.

"Many other companies have recently stated that having their employees take the Easy Read Speed-Reading Course has greatly improved productivity. One graduate of the course was able to read a 500-page report in only two hours; another graduate rose from an assistant manager to vice president of the company in under a year. Obviously, the faster you can read, the more information you can absorb in a single workday. Moreover, Easy Read would cost Acme only $500 per employee — a small price to pay when you consider the benefits. Included in this fee is a three-week seminar in Spruce City and a lifelong subscription to the Easy Read newsletter. Clearly, to improve productivity, Acme should require all of our employees to take the Easy Read course."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the advice and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the advice.

In this passage, the author recommends to require every employee of Acme to participate the Easy Read Speed-Reading Course, because it could inevitably increase the productivity of the company. To support his/her claim, the author cites other companies' feedback, the seemingly lower cost per employee and additional subscription benefits. Quite reasonable though such recommendation appears at first glance, there exists several questions regarding his/her line of reasoning that requires further analysis. Thus, the author's conclusion could end up being pretty compelling or invalid in the end, depending on the answers to the questions.

To start off, the author's reasoning heavily relies on whether such training actually increase employee's productivity for referred companies, a question that is not yet answered. It is likely that quicker reading speed and promotion for graduates might not necessarily result from such training, because specific graduate might have already possessed excellent skills for reading or necessary qualities for promotion. Without additional information to evaluate qualities of respondents in referred companies, it is of equal probability that their excellent performance actually have nothing to do with such training. Such phenomenon could seriously challenge reported result by other companies and render his/her claim much less advisable. On the contrary, any valid proof that both of respondents are previously incapable of English reading or little probabilities for further promotion could strengthen his/her viewpoint.

Granted that effectiveness of such training for other companies and given the fact about cost and benefits for the said effect of such training, whether Acme is worth to do such program needs a second look. Behind the author's reasoning lie two critical implications. The first one is that $500 per employee could really cause little financial burden for Acme. The probability that this company might have huge branches and a spate of employees must be considered and addressed. Yet, if the author could unequivocally demonstrate that Acme don't have so many employees and the total financial cost is still acceptable, his/her viewpoint will gain more weights.

Furthermore, the second implication is that the three-week seminar ins Spruce City and a lifelong subscription could benefit for employees quite a lot. While people in Acme might enjoy such seminar or eager to pursue with reading, the probability that they are so lethargic for further study could not be excluded in advance. If they are almost exhausted during work so that no more time could be reserved for such additional beneficial provision. Thus, we have no clues whether such additional providing for course actually work as we expected. If not, such so-said benefits could become little more than insignificant gains for employees and just lead to extra cost for the company.

Last but not least, while we can acknowledge for a moment that all of answers to aforementioned questions support the author's viewpoint, it remains to be seen whether all of different employees are suitable for such training. Other factors, such as distinction of their professional position, additional perception for new skills, as well as their enthusiasm for learning English, could readily compete with the one alleged in the argument. If their career don not require them to possess better English reading, or they don't have basic English language foundation, or they even disgust with further reading in spare time, the author's suggestion could be more likely to be in vain for his/her sake.

In summary, while other companies might emphasize benefits of such provided course, this is a conclusion that we cannot derive from the information available in the argument. Furthermore, even if such increasing productivity is true, advantages of improving employee's reading efficiency and additional benefits for them is still built upon implications, which are open to different probabilities. Only after the aforementioned questions are adequately addressed can we sufficiently evaluate such recommendation and reach a logically sound conclusion.