The following memorandum is from the business manager of Happy Pancake House restaurants.

"Recently, butter has been replaced by margarine in Happy Pancake House restaurants throughout the southwestern United States. This change, however, has had little impact on our customers. In fact, only about 2 percent of customers have complained, indicating that an average of 98 people out of 100 are happy with the change. Furthermore, many servers have reported that a number of customers who ask for butter do not complain when they are given margarine instead. Clearly, either these customers do not distinguish butter from margarine or they use the term 'butter' to refer to either butter or margarine."

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

In the memorandum, it is stated that customers do not distinguish butter from margarine, or they use the term ‘butter’ to represent both margarine and butter. The business manager from Happy Pancake House restaurants have come to this conclusion based on the lack of complaints by customers when they have received margarine instead of butter. However, before this argument can be properly evaluated, the assumptions must be assessed.

Firstly, is a lack of complaint equal to a lack of knowledge? In other words, can it be assumed that customers cannot distinguish margarine from butter because they have not complained? It is possible that the taste of margarine does not impact the taste of the dish ordered by the customer – perhaps using margarine in pancakes makes no difference while using margarine in waffles makes a significant difference. Further, it is a possibility that the change is not important to those customers who have not complained. Perhaps, Happy Pancake House has loyal customers who do not care about simple changes such as margarine in their dishes. It is a possibility that if other changes were made such as the amount of salt or sugar used there would be more complaints. If the manager could identify the impact of the change on the dishes that customers order, the original conclusion could be strengthened.

Secondly, how representative is the sample used to their entire population? The manager mentions that only two percent of customers have complained about the change. However, this may not be the case. The manager fails to mention the sample size which would provide a more substantial analysis of his conclusion. It is possible that the sample size may have been only fifty customers while Happy Pancake House has a customer base of over five thousand. With the given example, the sample size is not representative enough. As such, if this explanation has merit, then the conclusion drawn in the original argument is significantly weakened.

Finally, does a lack of complaint equal consent? The manager assumes that 98 percent of its customers are happy with the change because they have not complained. However, this may not be the case. Perhaps, within this population, these individuals are not likely to make complaints due to their temperament. These people may be shy or introverts and have chosen the best option is to not say anything. If this explanation holds any value, the manager’s argument is diminished.

In conclusion, the argument as it stands now is insignificant as it relies on several unwarranted assumptions. If the manager can refute for the alternative explanations and offer more information, then it is possible to evaluate the viability of the conclusion.