Woven baskets characterized by a particular distinctive pattern have previously been found only in the immediate vicinity of the prehistoric village of Palea and therefore were believed to have been made only by the Palean people. Recently, however, archaeologists discovered such a "Palean" basket in Lithos, an ancient village across the Brim River from Palea. The Brim River is very deep and broad, and so the ancient Paleans could have crossed it only by boat, and no Palean boats have been found. Thus it follows that the so-called Palean baskets were not uniquely Palean.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

In the argument, it is stated that Palean baskets which have been previously found in the prehistoric village of Palea are in fact not uniquely Palean due to them being found in Lithos, a village close to Palea. The author came to this conclusion based on the fact that for such “Palean” baskets to be found in Lithos, the ancient Paleans would have to take them across the river by boat, but, no Palean boats were found. However, before this conclusion can be properly evaluated, the assumptions must be assessed.

Firstly, evidence needs to justify that travelling by boat was the only means to cross the river into either village. It is possible that both the Palean and Lithos people were avid swimmers and found this to be their main method of travelling across the Brim River. Further, there is a possibility that the Brim River was not the only medium to travel across the villages. The author needs to provide evidence using a map or archeological history to indicate that this was their only means of travelling. Otherwise, the conclusion drawn from the original argument is significantly weakened.

Secondly, the people from Palea and Lithos may not be different people. The argument does not indicate that the people were from different lineages or races and so the conclusion is inadequate. It is possible that the “Palean” baskets are in fact Palean because the people from both villages are the same. The argument doesn’t produce any evidence to specify that the people are not the same, thereby producing the same distinctive pattern of baskets. Ideally, the author assumes that different lineages will think differently and have different relics. If it can be proven that the Palea and Lithos people were from a similar lineage which suggests a similar culture and thinking and therefore the same basket, the original argument does not hold water.

Lastly, even if the Palea and Lithos people were from different lineages, the evidence does not suggest that they didn’t interact with each other. Perhaps the Palea and Lithos people interacted with each other and shared their cultures. This means that each villager would have a similar style to that of the other people. If the argument can find supporting evidence of this, the argument will be weakened.

In conclusion, the argument, as it stands now is significantly flawed due to its reliance on several unwarranted conclusions. If the author can provide evidence on the three counter arguments and offer more information, then it will be possible to evaluate the practicality of this conclusion.