To understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Within a society, much can be expressed through the architecture, language and arts of a major city. However, it can be argued that a country’s major cities aren’t substantial enough to understand the most important aspects of a society. The topic raises the controversial issue of whether major cities are depictions of a society’s most important characteristics. In my opinion, I mostly disagree with the statement for two reasons.

Firstly, it is naïve to say that the most important characteristics of a society can be understood by studying their major cities when minor cities speak to the history of those major cities. For instance, during the Industrial Revolution, many Europeans moved to The United States for the purpose of economic development. At this time, there was a transition to new manufacturing processes – many of which took place in the rural areas. Because of these new processes, there was a development of the modern world which allowed rural areas to become more industrialized and urban. This indicates that without these developments, it would be difficult to understand how a major city was created as the majority of their history lies in more rural and minor cities.

Additionally, in order to study the major cities, one must understand the people who have influenced the cultures of such cities. For example, in the 1950’s, many individuals from the Caribbean, Europe and Asia moved to The United States for an improved life. However, during this time, majority of individuals only populated particular regions of America. Some of which are minor cities today. Due to changes in the economy, many of these individuals moved to major cities such as Washington DC and New York and influenced the cultures of these cities. It is important to note that within these major cities, individuals have a similar accent, culture and lifestyle. This illustrates that it is important to study the history of the people who reside in the major cities as their influence may have come from minor ones.

Of course, some would argue that major cities provide the best understanding of a society’s characteristics due to the population count and the activities that exist there. However, for example, Jamaica’s major city, Kingston, cannot be used as benchmark for the country’s culture due to assimilation, adaptation and filtering of aspects of the culture to appeal to tourists. This shows that major cities aren’t always the best depictions of a society’s most important characteristics as it has to lose some of its character in order to be attractive to other individuals.

In conclusion, to understand the most important characteristics of a society, it is necessary to study both major and minor cities as this provides a wider explanation for the culture and lifestyle of a society.