The following memorandum is from the business manager of Happy Pancake House restaurants.

"Recently, butter has been replaced by margarine in Happy Pancake House restaurants throughout the southwestern United States. This change, however, has had little impact on our customers. In fact, only about 2 percent of customers have complained, indicating that an average of 98 people out of 100 are happy with the change. Furthermore, many servers have reported that a number of customers who ask for butter do not complain when they are given margarine instead. Clearly, either these customers do not distinguish butter from margarine or they use the term 'butter' to refer to either butter or margarine."

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

The argument is unconvincing because it is rife with holes and assumptions that it would surely increase the profit if the idea is extended to its southeast and northeast branches. The people living in southeast and northeast may not respond same as that of southwestern people. The taste and food habits may differ largely in other regions. Margarine may be well accepted in southwestern side but it may be possible that its disliked in other regions.

Furthermore, its indicating only 2 percent of the customer has complained but there is no reliable evidence of it. it may be possible that the population is low in the region where the survey was conducted. So it may not be true for all of the people living in southwestern United states. also, there is no reliable and enough evidence that the server reports are true as it doesn't gives us an accurate number, it vaguely refers to it as many are happy with the change.

To sum it up briefly this argument is weak as it relies on assumptions that the people of southeast and northeast will also react in the same way as that of people living in southwestern region. Instead of increasing profitability this change could reduce the existing customer base of the restaurant chain.