We learn through direct experience; to accept a theory without experiencing it is to learn nothing at all.

Learning is a complex brain activity and as humans we are the most important learners of the nature. It is a very efficient way of learning to experience the theories directly. However, every learning does not have to depend on direct experience.

The history of human kind is full of very important theories, which are the product of extensive studies of eminent scholars. They led to a better understanding of nature for us and helped to develop our society. In order to further ameliorate this society, the new generations need to learn the important theories of the past in a short time period so as to build new ones upon them. Indeed, it seems wer are successful at this aim, since the development of the society continues to a great extent. The new generations doesn't have the option to directly witness all of the theories they learned but they can easily learn them because it is not contradictory to our mind. Learning process does not strictly require direct experience.

As an example, we can think about the improvement of biology in recent years. Many significant discoveries have been done such as the findings of Mendel about the hereditary mechanisms, discovery of the DNA structure by Watson and Crick, revealation of the genetic code of human beings by the colloborative activity many researcher worldwide, cloning of many animals done in many research labaratories, etc. All of the developments of biology are dependent on the crucial theory of Darwin concerning evolution. All of the recent theories, discoveries that are about to change the human society once more are built upon the evolution theory. In fact, no one including Darwin is able to directly experience the evolution theory. Nevertheless, this is taught to new generations for centuries, and those generations were quite able to learn and understand the theory of Darwin so that they were able to performs this quite significant progress in biology.

In summary, learning cannot be minimized to the conditions where we can have a direct experience with the subject. It is a far more broad process for humans that can be related to even about some theories which can never be experienced.