The following memorandum is from the business manager of Happy Pancake House restaurants.

"Butter has now been replaced by margarine in Happy Pancake House restaurants throughout the southwestern United States. Only about 2 percent of customers have complained, indicating that 98 people out of 100 are happy with the change. Furthermore, many servers have reported that a number of customers who ask for butter do not complain when they are given margarine instead. Clearly, either these customers cannot distinguish butter from margarine or they use the term 'butter' to refer to either butter or margarine. Thus, to avoid the expense of purchasing butter and to increase profitability, the Happy Pancake House should extend this cost-saving change to its restaurants in the southeast and northeast as well."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The author claims that the employment of the students from omega university has been tampered by the suspicious increase in grade levels due to the existing evaluation procedure of the faculties by the students and the employment has decreased when compared with nearby alpha university. To second this the author has provided with three claims without proper evidence which are weakening the strength of the argument rather than substantiating it.

To begin with, the author claims that, the introduction of the evaluation procedure has resulted in assigning of higher grades to the students by the professors. The author has failed to cite the context in which the increase in grades is directly proportional to the appeasement of the student towards their professors. The professor could have graded their students purely based on their merit rather than the necessity to provide higher grades to please the student fraternity. In addition, the author has also cited that the grades average has increased by 30%. this again evokes a required evidence based on which the claim is made. A higher bright student ratio, for example could have been a significant factor for the increase in grade in addition to the changes in the system of education and the information technology for the last 15 years could have also attributed to the increase. thus without proper facts that substantiates the above evidences, the claim doesn’t hold water.

Secondly, the author claims that the employers didn’t heed to the dramatic increase in the grades and thus the omega graduates have failed to secure a job. again, the author has failed to provide the necessary evidence to hold the hypothesis true. may be there existed a case where the student’s major background or the specialisation did not meet with the requirements of the employer. In addition, The omega university due to this name could have highly focused more on the academic front that weakened the graduates other potential weigh points for employment and thus making the employers to consider this significant factors that didn’t make the omega graduates, a healthy choice.

Finally, the author also claimed that the nearby alpha university graduates were more successful in terms of securing a job comparing to the omega graduates. this claim could be fundamentally questioned on the grounds on which the recruitment happened. may be the alpha university had ties with the Organisation which conducted campus drives for placements. Or perhaps, the employers were the Alumni of the alpha university and that could have had an effective influence on the recruitment.

thus the author though had variety of claims that made the students of omega university a poor choice to the employers, the author failed to prove the same with the stated evidences above. thus the argument fails to acumen the facts with claims and it is specious at worst.