Fifteen years ago, Omega University implemented a new procedure that encouraged students to evaluate the teaching effectiveness of all their professors. Since that time, Omega professors have begun to assign higher grades in their classes, and overall student grade averages at Omega have risen by 30 percent. Potential employers, looking at this dramatic rise in grades, believe that grades at Omega are inflated and do not accurately reflect student achievement; as a result, Omega graduates have not been as successful at getting jobs as have graduates from nearby Alpha University. To enable its graduates to secure better jobs, Omega University should terminate student evaluation of professors.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The author claims that the employment of the students from Omega University has been tampered by the suspicious increase in grade levels due to the existing evaluation procedure of the faculties by the students and the employment has decreased when compared with nearby Alpha University. To second this the author has provided with three claims without proper evidence which are weakening the strength of the argument than substantiating it.

To begin with, the author claims that, the introduction of the evaluation procedure has resulted in assigning higher grades to the students by the professors. The author has failed to cite the context in which the increase in grades is directly proportional to the appeasement of the student towards their professors. The professor could have graded their students purely based on their merit and not the necessity to give higher grades to please the student fraternity. Besides, the author has also cited that the average of the grades has increased by 30%. This again evokes required evidence based on which the claim is made. A higher bright student ratio, such as, could have been a significant factor for the increase in grade in addition to the changes in the system of education and the information technology for the last 15 years could have also attributed to the increase. Thus without proper facts that substantiate the above evidence, the claim doesn’t hold water.

Secondly, the author claims that the employers didn’t heed to the dramatic increase in the grades and thus the Omega graduates have failed to secure a job. Again, the author has failed to offer the necessary evidence to hold the hypothesis true. Maybe there existed a case where the student’s major background or the specialization did not meet with the requirements of the employer. Also, The Omega University due to this name could have highly focused more on the academic front that weakened the graduate's other potential weighing points for employment and thus making the employers consider these significant factors that didn’t make the Omega graduates, a healthy choice.

Finally, the author also claimed that the nearby Alpha University graduates were more successful in terms of securing a Job comparing to the Omega graduates. This claim could be fundamentally questioned on the grounds on which the recruitment happened. Maybe the Alpha university had ties with the Organisation which conducted campus drives for placements. Or perhaps, the employers were the Alumni of the Alpha University and that could have had an effective influence on the recruitment.

Thus the author though had a variety of claims that made the students of Omega University a poor choice to the employers, the author failed to prove the same with the stated evidence above. Thus the argument fails to acumen the facts with claims and it is specious at worst.