Governments should offer a free university education to any student who has been admitted to a university but who cannot afford the tuition.

Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider the possible consequences of implementing the policy and explain how these consequences shape your position.

With ever-increasing student loan debt in the United States and the resulting economic malfunctioning coupled with the recent spike in the unemployment, makes the tuition waiver, a promising solution to the students who cannot afford quality education that tantamount to the fees it seeks. The prompt suggests that the government should offer free university education to the powerless. In my opinion, though the idea of free education is effective and even provides a practical future for the country and the economy, it is important to understand the system in which the idea operates. For the same, I would like to discuss two different scenarios and the idea of how free education can have a definitive success.

To begin with, the idea of free education is not entirely a new concept, in my country, India, the idea of free education to the underprivileged has been practiced for the past half-century. In Tamilnadu, in the 1960s during the Kamaraj rule, there were even more initiatives to call for students from pastoral backgrounds to pursue education. For instance "Mid-day meal" scheme which offers lunch to students who cannot even afford a proper meal had pulled a fair amount of young people to Learning spaces which hoped to create a solid platform for the future of Tamilnadu and it did. Many of the leading scientists and administrators of India were once benefitted by such free education. Dr Abdul Kalam, the late president and a visionary of space and missile of India was one student who had free education. This initiative has created huge personalities and role models which is what I believe a catalyst to the future generation.

Fast-forwarding to the 20th century and looking at the global scale of knowledge and resources intertwined with the population and the expansion of territories, India is struggling to keep up with the modern world and still providing the equality in education. The Indian start of technology is one of the largest institutions that give quality education, the institution holds the state of the art technologies which need to update to the stream of fast-moving technology costing millions of dollars to keep up with modern science. Equating that with the free education coupled with the steady increase in the value of resources has created a huge burden on the government and that led to stringent competitive exams and raising the question of who was underprivileged which in my opinion, not the right question to ask.

Thus, the idea of free education is more practical to the future of our human civilization and hence the Earth thyself but it is no doubt that giving free education is a huge burden to the system i.e., the government and thus unlike India which controls the intake via strict reforms to keep the quality, it would be ideal if the burden was shared. Many Philanthropists and Non-Governmental organizations can help the government to share its burden. Provided that these organizations and standard fees to those who could afford can share and support the idea of the government's policy to provide free education, Rather than pushing the government in reducing the quantity of intake to keep the quality of education.

To close, the government standalone cannot take this huge responsibility of providing free education to those who cannot afford but it is practical for the different organizations and non-governmental systems to make this happen. After all, the government is, of and by the people.