'The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

“Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this time period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station’s coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have just canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to the program and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level.”

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence would be needed in order to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

It is clearly evident that decreasing the time devoted to national news cannot have a direct impact on advertising revenues .

The argument states that most of the complaints were in regard to station's coverage of weather and local news . It does not clearly mention or gives details as to what were the nature of complaints . Were they in regard to the time devoted or the quality and authenticity of the content shown ?

The statement that local businesses have cancelled the advertising contracts is true but the reason behind the cancellation is not mentioned . It may be that due to rising viewership the station increased its tariff for advertisements . It can also be true that a cost effective alternative in terms of a new station has emerged which has led the local businessmen to cancel their contracts.

It might be wrong to actually deduce that to attract more viewers time devoted to weather and local should be restored , because there might a weather alert in the past due to which the people were more keen about the weather on the program .It could also be true that a local event on the lines of an election or a shopping festival was going on which led to more viewership due to local news.

Hence to conclude it is clearly not evident from the provided argument that increasing time devoted to weather and local news to its former level can attract more viewers and avoid any futher loss of advertising revenues.