'The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

“Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this time period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station’s coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have just canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to the program and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level.”

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence would be needed in order to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

Their are a variety of evidences required to evaluate the mitigation suggested for increasing the numbers of viewers and thus the business dependent on it. As suggested by the passage, most of the compliants were regarding the coverage of weather and local news. Thus the only issue addressed and analysed in the passage is the volubility of the news.

The first and the foremost thing is to evaluate the authenticity and the extent of validity of the news telecasted. Their reasons have not been fully understood or documented. The clear assumption seems to be that the issues are with the volume of the news related with weather and local issues and the time devoted to it. But meteorology is an unpridictable field and the weather news is more often than not inaccurate. Thus the quality instead of quality of the news broadcasted needs to be analysed further. This might weaken the conclusion if it turns out to be true.

The second possibility overlooked is that the local news aired might have formented up the crowd to be vehement in their complaints. The local news is related with the things happening around them and at times people directly concerned with it might be affected or reprehensive of the news aired. Say for instance people in some parts of India consider cow as an embodiment of the santimonious forces and is a religious element in the Hindu culture. The local news might have aired the news about a local butcher or a slaughter house which seels infected beef. This can hurts the people and they might have reservations about the news which have not been carefully analysed.

Also the advertisement companies might have one major reason related with the number of viewers but the other overlooked possiblity might be the economial factors that affect their relationship with the news agency. Their business tem might be too contemptous or dictatorial in their approach to control certain advertisements and this might have yielded the knots of their business ties with the ultimate cause being the reduced number of followers. The dependence of a variety of such issues have not been properly analysed.

the concern here is that revenue lost is only due to this occurance. Other factors might include competing prices offered by competant news agencies. They might have attracted the buyers with lesser stringent knots on their throats as to what kind of advertisements they air. Their economic and busineess conditions might be far more suitable for business to flourish.

To evaluate this better surveys need to be conducted. They should be related with the analysis of the news, the business teamand competinf companies. This might help in strenghtening or weaken the argument that have been stated if the outcome is really the volume of the news aired is quite large.