"The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition."

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Asserting that the most propitious approach for development of the younger generation is by inducing mutual cooperation and not by competition, is too audacious. There are both merits and demerits to these methodologies which need to be carefully weighed so as predict the likeliness of success with better efficacy.

Cooperation inculcates a sense of bonding, presenting a more affable and ethically rich atmosphere. That morals guide people to be more generous, which at times creates an environment that instills the sense of forebonding thus compelling the people to be more productive, is totally contradictory to the claim. Dependence can help build mutual trust and lead to an overall growth of the person as a leader, thus weakening the claim. A good leader expects results but a great leader creates an environment to produce them.

Is the world, where mutual cooperation is much needed to cater to the effects of humans on environment, the control of the deleterious waste products they release, the dependence for oil, arms, aircrafts and other essential goods, going to function the way it does if the communities in different countries refuse to comply? Is the United Nation going to hold its proceeding is there is no cooperation? Or will the national and state govements be able to cope up to cater to the demands of the public if there is internal resentment? All of these examples compel us to question the extent to which the claim is true.

That being said, one must not totally negate the importance of competition. Competition is required for growth just as much. A competent individual is important to accomplish the task assigned in a set period of time, making the claim stronger. If there is a check on its extent and ferocity, competition guides people to perform better than their presumed capabilities.

This ability to perform and outweigh other has helped humans evolve. We cannot be negligligant towards the importance of competition in nature. Animals compete for food, shelter and partners. This improves the genetic diversity and helps in selection of more efficient individual thus acting a natural filter for the weaker race. Thus the importance of competion for this occurance in nature can be extrapolated to human life in general.

These arguments compel an individual to be equivocal about the importance of competion versus cooperation. Perhaps the best solution to reach a widely agreeable notion is to have a meticulous trade-off and balance the pros and cons relative to a praticular situation.