The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

“Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this time period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station’s coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have just canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to the program and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level.”

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence would be needed in order to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

In the given argument, business manager of a television station propeses that station should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to it's former level. This memorandum is attract more viewers to program and avoid losing advertising revenues. This revenue is earned via broadcsting advertisements for local businesses in between program. There are inherent limitations and in the argument.

Firstly, author makes his suggestion based on past year trend. During this period, many viewers have complained about station's coverage of weather and local news.

Here auhtor has not taken into consideration may statistical aspects such as out of toal viewers of television station what fraction of people have complained. Also whether complainers were viewers of that television station in the past is not mentioned in the argument. What kind of complaints were recieved is unstated. If complaints were specifically about timing of broadcast or some other problems is not provided in the argument. Has station shifted timing of local and weather news prior to or after national news broadcast is not mentioned too. Author should provide strong evidence that complaints received were specifically related to broadcast timings.

Second supporting point which author mentions is - decline in advertising revenues. The television station earns revenue via broadcasting advertisements during late night shows has lost many contracts. This cannot be attributed to broadcast of national news instead of local news and weather information. There are many other factors which can be seen as a plausible reason. Social media is a powerful advertising tool and hence instead of television channel, local businesses may have moved to online platforms. There can be other stations which are charging them less than a station mentioned in a argument. Hence author must provide any evidence that clears that loss of contracts is specifically due to more devotion of station to national news.

At a same time, current viewership for national news is an important factor for reaching to a conclusion. Shifting local and weather news broadcast to it's former slot may cost station a loss of many current viewers who are specifically interested in national news. Author hasn't stated current viewership trends or any strong evidence which suggests that current viewership is appreciably low as compared to past observations. In order to validate given argument, author should provide sound statistical data for viewership - current and past.

Without sound statistical evidence, following argument can be said to be based on vacuous observations and author must substantiate it with plausible reports.